A South African Sight I Will Never Forget

Simply put, one of my top 3 days work wise ever. Waking up (or did I even sleep that night?) I headed to my townships east of Joburg. It was April 27, 1994, the morning of South Africa’s first election open to all citizens of South Africa. The people were waiting but this was no ordinary line. This was the most amazing heart warming line I have ever witnessed. The smiles, the joy, the excitement were overwhelming.

I enter the voting station and begin to observe. However, for many people, secret ballot or not, there was no secret; they wanted Mandela! As some required assistance and reassurance, they would gesture me over and sing something that sounded like Votela Mandela and I would show them the spot to mark. I can still hear those words today.

I would love to hear from you!

