Before Travel, I NEVER Would Have…

Held on until the next bathroom and the next bathroom and the next bathroom and the next…

Thought twice about walking on a patch of grass (unfortunate habit after living in mine infested Cambodia)

Watched my maid kill the chicken on my back porch and eat it an hour later

Waited until my bags were on the bus before getting on

Checked, double checked, and triple checked that my photos are still there

Slept with a radio by my head waiting to hear if we had to evacuate in the middle of the night (Cambodia)

Slept with a bat circling my head

Asked my kids a million times if they have everything

Brushed my teeth with pop

Forced myself to close my mouth while showering – try it, it is hard to do

Worn the same purple fleece for almost 30 years

Drink hot tea on a super hot day because it is the safest thing to drink

Cried at the sight of a salad that I could actually safely eat

Carried a switchblade in case I had to deactivate a mine (I had a mere hour session to learn how – Cambodia)

Dreamed of the nights you just get into bed without checking first

Known that mosquito nets and sleep sheet would be my best friends

Had my skin touched over and over by strangers (Surinamese jungle)

Carried Kleenex everywhere with me

Lived on potato chips when I felt sick

Dehydrated and starved myself on long travel days (fear of no bathrooms)

Scoped out bus stations and train stations like a cop

Ignored as many people (touts) as I have 😦

Showered with my clothes on to wash them

Slept with all my clothes on over and over (Bolivia)

Dreamed of turning on the shower and finding hot water

Gone to the bathroom on the highway because the field was too dangerous;thank goodness for long skirts (Cambodia)

Travelled with chickens, goats and plenty of other livestock on buses

Got butted by a cow and not been able to do anything about it (holy cow)

Talked to and met as many wonderful strangers as I have

21 comments

  1. joannesisco · June 26, 2015

    That is quite the list!! Travelling is definitely humbling, isn’t it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Um. Um. Um… Okay. I got nuthin’.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Sock Mistress · June 19, 2015

    Yes to a huge number of these. I’d also add to the list – been frustrated at people who complain about trivial things #firstworldproblems 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 19, 2015

      Yes, travel in some countries really opens your eyes to real problems and makes us grateful for what we have.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. any1mark66 · June 18, 2015

    Great list. .. however getting a picture of babies before looking for mom first. Is one I would add

    Liked by 1 person

  5. unfinishedtravel · June 18, 2015

    I definitely scope out bathrooms before deciding whether or not I’m going to hydrate. And I agree with it being hard to close your mouth when you shower. I’ve gotten better at it over the years, but it still doesn’t come naturally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

      Yes, bathrooms are a huge part of travelling comfortably. If they suck, then I will do what I can to avoid them!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. snowsomewhere · June 18, 2015

    Fun post and many points that were familiar to me, like living on potatoe chips (for me, it wasn’t coz i WAS sick but because I wanted to be sure to not get sick! Processed food and calories but sometimes it beats fresh food, unfortunately….) …Also, Cambodia might not be the first country on my travel list!!! Isn’t that where you also got dengue and malaria? Uhm…. Maybe I’ll just look at the photos!!! :/ (Looking at your blog, I realise that while I’ve traveled a lot, all my life, I haven’t visited that many developing countries… Sure I’ve slept on the beach and in a park in Italy when I didn’t have money for a hostel, but I haven’t really been to THAT exotic countries)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

      Yes, potato chips are a saving grace no matter the reason. I always crave salads when I travel but then I feel I can’t eat them because they are not as safe. I don’t have too many pics from Cambodia on my blog as I don’t have digital photos from then and my pics look ancient as I got them developed there. We are going back at Xmas so then I will have new fresh ones. I slept outside the Venice train station due to lack of money a million years ago! There are easier developing countries to try in almost every region if you want a go at it. Almost each region has one or two that stand out as great for first timers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • snowsomewhere · June 18, 2015

        Looking forward to seeing the Cambodia pics! I slept outside the Colosseum in a park in Rome and on a beach in Riccione and another beach near Naples…. 😉 And also on a bench in Rimini!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

        Oh my gosh. You are adventurous. Do the police ever come by and say anything?

        Liked by 1 person

      • snowsomewhere · June 18, 2015

        No. But that was a long time ago. I wouldn’t do that now that I’m older and more sensible! I’m a bit shocked at my younger self. Solo traveling in Italy was fun, though. The most adventurous thing I’ve done is maybe going to Africa without any local money (ok ok, it was a work trip to an all-inclusive resort in Kap Verde, but that just sounds so much better rephrased!) 😉 I don’t know if I could handle real travel in developing countries, though in theory I’d like to. One dream has always been to do a safari in Kenya/SA’s Kruger park/something similar. But I don’t know if I’d dare. There are so many interesting “easy” destinations I haven’t yet visited…. E.g. Canada 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

        You could do Kruger by tour if you wanted which would make sense and be a lot easier. But I know what you mean. Africa is tougher than SE Asia for backpacking. SE Asia is the best place to start and for North Americans, Central America is quicker and an easier way to start.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. garym6059 · June 18, 2015

    Sounds like you have had an adventurous time! Mental not do not go to Cambodia!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

      I know it sounds troublesome but Cambodia has really opened up to tourism now and millions go there regularly. When I was there, it was still kind of rough around the edges so to speak. We are headed back there this Xmas and looking forward to it. But it is still an adventure to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. WhenInTurkey · June 18, 2015

    Don’t forget to carry toilet paper everywhere in Egypt! That will definitely go on this list…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. everywordyousay · June 18, 2015

    Wow, that’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lovetotrav · June 18, 2015

    Reblogged this on four camels and a coffee to go and commented:

    In honour of Throwback Thursday, I have been thinking of all the experiences that come with travelling as Jade and I get ready to venture out in the world again. I hope we miss a few of these this time around… but I am certain a few more will be added as well! If anything, travel is never boring. Happy travels to you this summer! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

