An Oxymoron – Planning India

India is driving me crazy.

I want to take my family there. I want to fit it all in. I know I can’t. What is a mom to do?

I am stuck… between “planning” a trip to the north  or “planning” a trip to the south. I know I should be able to decide but I can’t.

Pros for the North-ish ( a new geography term that includes more than Rajasthan)

Taj Mahal – need I say more

Bundi, Bundi and more Bundi (see pic above) – more relaxed, easier, quaint, kite flying off of the roofs, great options for accomodation, monkeys, fort, all round great

Palaces – you can stay in old palaces and/or forts and yes, some are even affordable for backpacking families

Amritsar – didn’t see it before, want to see it! I have read so much about the Golden Temple and how wonderful it is to eat alongside thousands of people inside it daily and that there is a peace to the place that some just fall in love with

Varanasi – again we didn’t make it there the first time, so believing it is a city like no other in the entire world, it is a reason to go northish

Pros for the South-ish ( a new geography term that includes more than Kerala)

Kerala houseboats – my dad and I talked and dreamed of these many times, even bad photographers take good pics of the Kerala backwaters, it just is that beautiful

Easier? – I haven’t been to the south but any traveller who has experienced more of India than I, says the south is easier, fewer touts, less hassle – important to consider when it is my family’s first experience

Tea Plantation – I am obsessed with tea plantations but have never been. Strange, I know. I just love the pics of them so much.

Hampi – An IT PLACE that travellers go on and on about – I want to be one of those travellers – Walking and biking through the ruins, water running through the area, great sunsets, local people who pilgrimage there, a place to wander. Right up my alley.

Help!  Advice? In any event, it will be an experience.

4 comments

  1. DayDreamer52 · June 29, 2015

    Hey! I can’t say much about south India as I haven’t visited much but the north is definitely worth it! Oh and I can vouch for the tasty food at The Golden temple. It’s usually very crowded but it is also really beautiful, the food is amazing and it really worth a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 29, 2015

      Thank you! Amritsar is right up there at the top of my list for the north. I can’t wait to see it and experience it. Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: K is for Kind | four camels and a coffee to go
  3. indiafoodclub · March 1, 2015

    Reblogged this on India Food Club.

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

