When Your Kids Travel and You Stay Home or Otherwise Known as Me Pouting

I was so excited when Erin first mentioned Uganda.

She had met some university friends from Uganda and her other friend wanted to visit them. Bonus! Not only someone to travel with, but people to stay with. It doesn’t get much better than that. As well as… this is Uganda, need I say more. Often called the Switzerland of Africa and touted as “one of the favs on the African backpacker trail”, I didn’t hesitate to encourage her to go. In fact, it probably went something like this,

Erin, you would be insane to not go. I would die to go to Uganda. You will love it! And if you don’t, you are nuts.

405946_10151136940152390_1609209894_n

But then, it dawned on me. Someone in our family is going to someplace great and I am not. Oh, that hurts, just a little. I know, I know, be happy for your kids so I was… but still I felt a tad travel envious of the Facebook updates as they came in. Darn that Facebook for the constant reminders of what else is out there and how much fun it looks.

Now Jade, this week, is going to Europe on a school trip. Secretly, I wish it was only to places that I have been to (I know… more confessions of a travel obsessed mom and on that note, you can read this if you would like Confessions of A Travel Obsessed Mom for more gory unconventional details. You see, I really really want to see Budapest and Krakow and of course, would love to see Berlin and Prague again. But as with Erin, I am so happy for her and will patiently await her return for every travel detail possible.

So as we get her prepared for her trip (and remember this is Europe = expensive in our travel books) we will tell her to have fun, to explore, to ask questions, and to eat all her lunches (not covered) outside, picnic style, to save us a little money. šŸ™‚

italy 035

The only kind of lunch the C family can afford in Europe.

I would love to hear from you!

