My Sunday Morning – A Little of Wales, Some of India and A Bit of Cambodia

Chris and I had another spicy affair last night in Oshawa, of all places. We just can’t get enough of it.

Every Saturday night we find ourselves drawn to another affair; we are officially addicted.

I don’t know how I will ever give it up.

If you are curious, this is what our affair looks like:

So I woke up a bit groggy from my Indian hangover of pakoras, samosas, onion bhaji, chana masala, aloo gobi, dal makhani and the odd roti thrown in and stumbled in an Indian haze to my computer.

This is where Wales comes in.

I would like to thank Caitlin from the Teen Daydreamer, a blogger in Wales who has nominated me for this following award.

the-daydreamer-award1

Oh but the award comes with a challenge. I need to choose a character I would like to be in a book. Of course, me being a non-fiction travel freak, I immediately think of one of my many favourites.

A fantastic read that will make you think of what we can share and learn from others in all kinds of places

A fantastic read that will make you think of what we can share and learn from others in all kinds of places

Gail Gutradt, an author and volunteer, shares her experiences working alongside Wayne Dale Matthysse at Wat Opot, a temple complex that is a place of healing for children with or orphaned by HIV/AIDS in Cambodia. A former Marine Corps medic in Vietnam, Wayne began the Wat Opot Children’s Community with just $50. Gail’s story of how it begun, how it survives and how it continues to this day is one that I would love to experience a little of myself. She has fund raised and volunteered there many times and the stories of the children are ones that you won’t forget.

A book you read that stays with you long after you have finished.

So in a nutshell, I would love to be one of those volunteers like Gail Gutradt working at Wat Opot someday in Cambodia.

Being in Cambodia makes me happy. Why? The People.

And so I will end with my pic of me being happy in Cambodia (in case you needed proof) and special thanks to Caitlin for this Sunday surprise that brought Wales, India and Cambodia together; all in a sweet package.

Me, a while ago :) being happy in Cambodia!

Me, a while ago 🙂 being happy in Cambodia!

I would love to hear from you!

