History Repeats Itself – 34 Years Later

A mere 34 years later, I watched a somewhat similar version of myself arrive home from her school trip to Europe.

Yes, Jade has returned and we have the piles in the house to prove it.

Never would I have thought when I went to Europe in Grade 10 on my first trip outside of North America, that some day I would be waiting in a parking lot for my own daughter to do the same.

Never would I have thought that the same moment (visiting a concentration camp) would impact her as deeply and emotionally as it had affected me 34 years ago.

Never would I have thought that I would be as excited to share her photos and stories with her, as I was to share mine with my parents.

Never would I have thought that 34 years later, my own daughter would bring home the same Milka chocolate that I too had brought home with me.

So last night, listening to her excitedly retell her adventures, I had tears in my eyes; as I imagined that someday, she too will sit on a couch and listen to her own child do the same.

A beautiful circle of travel that would be.

Me - returning home from my European trip.

Me – returning home from my European trip.

Jade returning home from her trip, eating her Milka - a great cure for jet lag!

Jade eating her Milka – a great cure for jet lag!

I would love to hear from you!

