C is for Cranky

In the months of January, February and March, I am a cranky Canadian. My family would probably disagree and add a couple more months to that list.

What starts off wonderful as a Canadian kid “Oh look. It’s snowing!” turns into evil as a Canadian adult “if I see one more snowflake, I am going to...(you can fill in the rest)”

So, it is no surprise to the Family C that my OTD (obsessive travel disorder) goes into full-blown crisis mode each and every winter. And for the record, it’s not a pretty sight. More ranting can be viewed here.

This is how it goes down.

I go onto one travel blog. Then another. Then another. And soon I have them all memorized. I can actually tell you where each backpacker is at any given time. Yup, I have become a full-time travel stalker.

So to throw me a bone this winter, Chris informed me that my big birthday (when I turn ??) is coming up and we should plan something extra special for it this year.

No problem, I say. I already have about 5 trips planned out. Which one do you want to do?

Well, he, who is rarely indecisive, immediately chooses the location.

I think. I agree in my head. But what about this place? and this place? and this place? They are all great and we need to see all of them.

And so my OTD resumes.

Until we get there that is.

Christmas in Cambodia. Music to my ears.

Only 8 months and 3 weeks away.

Tick… tick…tick…as I watch the clock.

2015-04-02 11.40.49

First Christmas in Cambodia involved dancing and partying. Doubtful that second Christmas in Cambodia will be the same now that I am older and maybe, wiser 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. Happy A to Zs from the Family C.

20 comments

  1. uncle gerry · April 14, 2015

    i don’t know who looks happier in that picture , you or your dance partner lol!!!! ice bucket ( love that term )

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 14, 2015

      I think maybe he was. I was the only female at the party so I did a lot of dancing or had to anyways!

      Like

  2. patgarcia · April 3, 2015

    Snow is one of the reasons that I want yo move farther south in Europe.
    Shalom,
    Patricia at Everything Must Change

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      Yes, southern Europe sounds really good to me too. Cheryl

      Like

  3. I feel your cranky, OTD pain! February. It’s the shortest month, but it gets me every time. Cheers!

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      I know. Each year I say I will do it differently and each year I feel the same way. Cranky! Cheryl

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco · April 3, 2015

    Add me to the list of cranky Canadians in winter. I think it’s the cabin fever 😉

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      I will. Ha Ha. I just went for a walk and it is so nice to see the snow melting. Cheryl

      Like

  5. njmagas · April 3, 2015

    I’ll join you there as a winger cranky Canadian. I’m from Vancouver where the skies are all grey for 9 months of the year. Come the end of March when the sun finally starts to peek through the clouds, I have friends say, “Wow, I haven’t seen you this happy in months!” Yeah, that’s because I haven’t seen the sun since last September! 😛

    Have fun in Cambodia!
    https://njmagas.wordpress.com

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      My husband just got back from Vancouver in Feb. and wanted to move there to retire because at least there was no snow. I spent a summer there and loved it but do realize that the greyness can affect as well. Sun is important as I used to live in Manitoba; freezing but very sunny. Have a great day and again no sun… but fog today. Live on Lake Ontario and that happens, Cheryl

      Like

      • njmagas · April 3, 2015

        Oh, I used to get SAD every year in Vancouver. Waking up every day to the same grey sky can get really depressing. Living in Kyoto is different. The skies here are mostly blue, but the weather extremes from summer and winter are hard to get used to.

        Like

      • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

        Yes, you wouldn’t have had those extremes in Vancouver but I think Kyoto sounds great. Haven’t been there yet but does sound interesting and I like interesting. Cheryl

        Liked by 1 person

      • njmagas · April 3, 2015

        Best times to visit Kyoto are spring of fall. It’s too hot and humid in the summer and dry and ice cold in the winter.

        Like

      • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

        Thanks. We will have to build that in as a future trip somehow from Egypt. My list keeps getting longer and longer. Cheryl

        Liked by 1 person

      • njmagas · April 3, 2015

        Oh~ Egypt! Another place I’ve always wanted to visit. We need a location swap! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura Roberts · April 3, 2015

    As someone who (purposely) moved to Canada from the U.S., and then went and married a Canadian, I must say that living in SoCal, I actually miss the snow! Although it was frigid in Montreal, and our heating bill was frequently through the roof, I still prefer being cold to being hot. You can always put on another sweater, and then snuggle under a million blankets together if you’re cold. What can you do when you’re sweating to death? Once you’re naked, not much aside from soaking in the tub, pointing several fans at your sweaty body, or (if you’re lucky) retreating to a place with AC. Ick. Christmas in Cambodia sounds interesting, though. What will you do there, if not dancing?

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      Too funny. I agree there are times that it is cozy to snuggle inside with a fire and a great book but our storms lately have got a tad out of control and winter seems to last longer and longer each season. Looks like I am headed to sandstorms instead of snowstorms for a while anyways. As far as Xmas in Cambodia goes, I hope to sit myself under a palm tree which I am overly fascinated with and breathe in the humidity. Have a great day and thanks for the comment. Made me smile 🙂 Cheryl

      Like

  7. Rhonda Albom · April 3, 2015

    Before we moved to New Zealand I had a kiwi friend draw a line on the map as to where I would have to live to never see snow again. As for our home, it worked, but one of my girls went on to be a champion snowboarder – epic fail for me and my lack of snow. I often share your crankiness.

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 3, 2015

      How ironic. Our girls love the snow in the beginning of the season (we ski) but in the end, we are so sick of it that it is almost painful. I personally could give it up forever. Cheryl

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

