D is for Different

Everyone went to university (or so it seemed). I went to The Netherlands to repeat grade 12 and take grade 1 Dutch.

Everyone found a job during university breaks (or so it seemed). I went to Suriname to volunteer in the jungle and returned home broke and somewhat malnourished.

Everyone thought I should work in France and ski in the winters (or so it seemed). I said no to that job (what was I thinking?) and went to law school instead.

Everyone wanted to work as a lawyer after finishing law school (or so it seemed). I said no to law and went to Cambodia to volunteer in the jungle, AGAIN.

Everyone said I shouldn’t change careers and return to university as I would never find a job at that age (or so it seemed). I did anyways and began to teach right away.

Being “different” or going against the grain, has always worked for me.

At least…until the other “D” word happened and then it abruptly changed.

Divorced was different (or so it seemed); but not the different that I had been seeking.

And then I heard.

I could never do that. I could never give up my child 50% of the time. 

And I heard this not once. Not twice. Over and over (or so it seemed). And each time, the sting stung, just the same.

The tune may have changed but the sound is still there. Albeit an easier one to hear.

I could never go to a place like that. How can you do that? Does your child really want to go?– in reference to moving to Egypt this time.

I don’t know. I guess, I am different?

Maybe, but this time, like most of the other times, it is the “good” kind of different.

At least that is what I am telling myself.

(And maybe being a little different, creates a kind of different for those around me.) I don’t know. Take a look, and let me know 🙂

Happy A to Zs from Cheryl and Family C.

13 comments

  1. uncle gerry · April 14, 2015

    there is something to be said about following and doing what your heart tells you to do!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. herheadache · April 11, 2015

    Different is my middle name practically.
    🙂
    Well it’s actually Lynne, but I did add the “practically”.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joannesisco · April 5, 2015

    I like your *different*. Congratulations on embracing what works for you and makes your spirit sing 🙂

    Like

  4. njmagas · April 5, 2015

    After high school I worked office jobs; my friends thought I was crazy for not going to university. When I’d saved enough money I went to Japan for 2 weeks; my parents thought I was crazy for dropping that much money on a vacation on the other side of the world. After I’d saved even more money, I took night courses at my university; my employer thought I was crazy for stretching myself so thin. After a year, my partner moved to Japan, so I dropped everything and moved with her; everyone thought I was crazy to abandon a steady job and school to frolic for a year in another country. It was only supposed to be for a year, but we have been here for five; my friends and family told me I was crazy (and horrible) for remaining in Japan after the earthquake). We leave next year where I’ll return to university full time for sociology. My dream is to be a writer. I’m sure there will be lots of commentary from the peanut gallery over that, too.

    If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my short 29 years it’s that there’s the way everybody THINKS things ought to be done, and the way you know is best for you and they very rarely are the same. 🙂

    N J Magas, author

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 5, 2015

      I think it is fantastic that you have done what you have felt you should do by following your gut or intuition. That has driven me so I basically “retired” and travelled and worked overseas in my 20s and early 30s and looking back, have never regretted it. In fact those who did the standard – go to school, get job, married and have children right away – reflect now that they wish they had done what I did when I did. I know you won’t regret your time in Japan ever. A fascinating place to live and this will stay with you forever. If we all did the same thing, life would be pretty boring… or at least I tell myself. ha ha! Best of luck in sociology and in your writing career. Take care, Cheryl

      Liked by 1 person

  5. patgarcia · April 4, 2015

    Hi,
    I believe that it is the difference in each human being that makes them unique. The problem is accepting that each individual is different. Woe unto all of us when we start grouping people because of their similarities. That would yield a dangerous result.

    Shalom,
    Patricia

    Like

    • lovetotrav · April 4, 2015

      Insightful comment. Thanks Patricia. Have a great day, Cheryl

      Like

  6. Solveig · April 4, 2015

    It takes courage to be different.

    Like

  7. Rhonda Albom · April 4, 2015

    Celebrate your differentness. I love this post and your adventurous spirit. Sorry about your divorce, and the crap you have to hear from so many negative people. Different is good. If we were all the same, there would be no progress.

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

