The Family C – Somewhat Divided by A to Z

(Jade, my teen daughter/writer, shares her point of view on the A to Z Challenge that I signed up for.)

No one told me that this challenge would be hard, nor did they say it would be easy. Though the most important thing that was left out, was the fact that this challenge involves me.

Shouts and calls heard from the kitchen are met by impatient groans. I rise once again to help my mother with her challenge, as she presents a poem she has written. I make a deal with her as I read over her poem that lacks poetic characteristics. If I help her, she will go to the grocery store and buy me some snack food.

I don’t believe you understand just what it is like to live in the “Family C” household at the moment. I sit on the couch, writing stories on my computer as my mother sits in the kitchen, writing entries to her blog. Of course, every time a post is soon to be published, I am called.

“JAAAAAAAAAAAADE!!”

“WHAAAAAT?”

“Can you come here please?”

“Why?”

“I want you to read this before I publish it.”

I groan and walk over to the kitchen, sitting down on the chair to read her story. I correct her work as she has given me the fun job as her editor. Unlike an actual editor’s job. Not only do I correct her pressing grammatical errors and misunderstood attempts with English punctuation, I also get to explain each time why I removed that semicolon.

At this point, when my mom has returned from her part of the deal and has read to the point of my last paragraph, I know what she will say.

“Don’t add that, Jade.”

“Sorry, too late. Imagine those words etched in stone, instead of completely removable by the click of a button, Mom.”

But as I did promise to write about my experiences of dealing with her A to Z challenge, and she is being a lovely mother at the moment by fulfilling her part of our deal, I shall write.

Dealing with the A to Z challenge is a pain in my neck.

And I’m not the one doing it.

I come home after school to discover sticky notes plastered on our walls and my mother sitting at her desk, either writing or eating salad while intensely staring at her computer screen.

She turns to face me and asks how my day has been.

This is my moment.

I now have five minutes to squeeze in my entire day before her next inevitable question.

“So, I was wondering if you had an idea for what I should do for the letter …?” or “So, I wrote this today and I want to know what you think.”

What started off as a good idea, something for my mother to have fun with has turned into a full fledged project. My mother working as the leader, while I have a part-time job as the whole committee. I must edit, I must share opinions (but not too many because then I am a teenager with an attitude problem apparently), and I must tell her that I like it.

Though she is having fun doing the challenge and telling me what people from other countries are saying, I am not having as much.

(Jade has now returned to her couch to her own writing and is happily snacking away on her chips. I, on the other hand, am reflecting on whether the above paints me in a bad light 🙂 Oh well and I hit the publish button.)

14 comments

  1. I am laughing so hard right now. So glad you pushed the publish button.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 14, 2015

      Thanks. My daughter is a tad sarcastic but I guess I have only myself to blame!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat · April 12, 2015

    Although my son, Kris, does not edit my posts, I’m sure he feels like he is an unwilling participant in the A to Z Challenge since I’m always bringing up something that I’m writing about….. He’s a good sport. We talk blogs even though I do not read his and he does not read mine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 12, 2015

      That is nice. We share our stories too but I guess I have to revisit some punctuation rules since I seem to love my semicolons too much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kat · April 12, 2015

        🙂 I love run-on sentences myself…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. SD Gates · April 12, 2015

    Hey Mom, can you ask Jade if she has any good ideas for ‘K’, please? Love this post! About the same is happening in our house, as I am unofficially doing the A-Z challenge. It’s a lot more work than I initially thought it would be. And we are not even halfway through. Oh well!!!!

    Like

  4. stephen tremp · April 12, 2015

    A to Z is a challenge. It can be a bit of a grind too. But its a great way to meet new people and places you would otherwise never be able to do. And you can share your life and experiences with the world

    Stephen Tremp
    an A-Z Cohost
    @StephenTremp on Twitter

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 12, 2015

      Absolutely agree. This was a bit sarcastic from my daughter. She likes to “edit” and I am really enjoying it and yes, meeting lots of people. Cheryl

      Like

  5. Mom of 3 · April 12, 2015

    As the mom of a 15 year old daughter in honor’s English, this made me smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco · April 12, 2015

    You get help?!! I’m soooo jealous as I’m drifting alone here in the alphabet sea 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. g · April 12, 2015

    Delightful! Jade, will you please explain to me what a dangling participle is?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 12, 2015

      She will be “write” on it 🙂 This will turn into another grammar lesson for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. La Sabrosona · April 11, 2015

    What a great idea! *Stamps LS on screen* 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sonia Lal · April 11, 2015

    I actually think it’s good!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

