K is for Kind

For some, India is an acronym for I will never do it again.

For others, India is an acronym for I need to do it again.

Despite a few rough moments (here and here and here) I loved being in India and have been planning my return forever.

Why? Because despite the bad press India receives sometimes, the country is full of incredibly kind people who will go out of their way to help you, even if the “help” looks and feels a lot different than you are used to 🙂

Expect the unexpected. No where is this more true than India.

Want to feel like a star? Hand out some autographs? Become pen pals with the world? Go to India.

Me, the glamorous tourist (NOT) handing out autographs.

Me, the glamorous tourist (NOT) handing out autographs.

Want to be kindly told what to do? Go to India.

Want to kindly help put out a fire? Good luck and go to India.

2015-04-02 11.42.19However, if India feels like too much too soon, then I highly recommend Cambodia, which for me, has some of the kindest people in the world.

For example, are you married? Did you invite a heap of strangers to your wedding? Didn’t think so.

However, Cambodians are so kind that they do invited strangers to their wedding; this time, being me, over and over. I even had to have a wedding wardrobe sewn to keep up!

At one of many Cambodian weddings. The bride is in the background!

At one of many Cambodian weddings. The bride is in the background!

And what about The Netherlands? A kind Dutch family wrote on their bench.  Please Take A Seat …but don’t smoke any weed or other funny stuff. Our kids are a bit too young to get stoned… Enjoy the best bench in Town!

1238710_10151856460972390_1854675771_nThe kindness of strangers.

Just like you who stop by to read, yet, we haven’t officially met.

Thank you for being so K for kind from the Family C on their path to A to Z.

Who are some of the kindest people you have met on your travels?

22 comments

  1. Sena · July 30, 2015

    Really good post, makes me want to pack my bags and travel ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. seraireland · April 14, 2015

    I loved this post and really enjoyed reading it. 🙂 I haven’t been to India or Cambodia yet, but they are on my bucket list.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joannesisco · April 14, 2015

    I haven’t been to India or Cambodia, but I have found wonderful and kind people everywhere I’ve travelled 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paige Hamilton · April 13, 2015

    Though my travels aren’t as extensive as yours, I’ve been blessed to have met many kind strangers on my journeys. Oddly enough, on my first visit to Cajun Country deep in the swamps of Louisiana (which is where I now live), I did not have such luck. My friend and I left thinking that the people were just as spice as the food! Thankfully, I was willing to try again and realized that the my first experience wasn’t normal. Happily I discovered that Cajuns are truly a bunch of welcoming people who would give most anyone the shirt off their back … or at least a big bowl of gumbo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      That is so sweet. I am happy it worked out for you. Living in a friendly place is important.

      Like

  5. Miriam E. Thompson · April 13, 2015

    You know kindness shows up in the least likely places. Travelling teaches me that human beings no matter where they are at their core are good people. India does get alot of bad press as well as the Middle East. When I go to the South, I find a great deal of kindness. Up north, the personalities are frigid. This post is a reminder to look for the good in people no matter where they can be found. Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sarah Ferguson · April 13, 2015

    Someday I will get to India – I may have to leave the hubby home with my mom, as I am not sure either of them wants to go, but that means my dad and I will have a great time!

    As for kindness, people have always been kind, everywhere I have been (though perhaps this is because I constantly look lost/out-of-place!). From carrying my bags through train stations in Japan to providing detailed tour plans in Ireland, I have had so many small (and big) kindnesses throughout my travels, I can’t even pick out one that stands out more than another!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      I so know. I have found the same to be true when I travel. People generally want to help out, especially when they realize you need it! I hope you get to India. My mom wouldn’t travel with my dad there so I went to with my dad. It was one of the best trips I have taken. And he would agree. He had really travelled too so he had a lot to compare to.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mani (A New Life Wandering) · April 13, 2015

    I loved this post. That is so true about India.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      Thanks. I have such a love for India. I must have been Indian in a past life 🙂

      Like

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      I so agree. I find it such a fascinating country with something of interest around every corner.

      Like

  8. Melanie Macek · April 13, 2015

    I’m still trying to work my way out of the US. Only made it to Canada so far but the hubby and I have high expectations. Thanks for sharing the pics. As far as kindest people? The Canadians we met were friendly and just about everyone in Mobile, Alabama.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. When I travelled in Latin America, I actually found Americans to be the friendliest of all backpackers (not my nationality!). I am sure it all depends on who you are talking to. But some countries like Cambodia have reputations for being very friendly. I hope you get a chance to travel beyond your border some day.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. jazzwilks · April 13, 2015

    I’ve been there 7 times and still enjoy it! I’m sure your daughters will love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jazzwilks · April 13, 2015

    I enjoyed India so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 13, 2015

      Fantastic. My daughters can’t wait to get there soooon. Cheryl

      Like

  11. dawnkinster · April 12, 2015

    This post made me smile.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. La Sabrosona · April 12, 2015

    Reblogged this on my spanglish familia and commented:
    This is the second K post on Kindness I’ve read in 24 hours. The fact that it’s on people’ minds is a good thing. I’m spreading the news. If only there were a Kindness virus. I wouldn’t mind having that flu.

    Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear from you!

