M is for Meatless

The nurse looks at me, questioning.

Be careful of the water, you know. I suppose you will be doing most of the cooking at home. Right?

Well, yes. Except when it comes to meat.

Why?

I don’ t even cook meat at our house here in Canada. I definitely won’t want to be cooking it in Egypt.

Are you a vegetarian? (eyeing me suspiciously now as she also glances at Jade)

Yes, but Jade isn’t. 

Then what happens here in Canada?

Well, Chris cooks it, of course 🙂 

I wasn’t always vegetarian; having grown up on hamburger helper and then tuna helper, when it was invented. How could one be meatless living in the cold prairies; the land of the casserole?

But then one night, this happened. The perfect eating formula for becoming vegetarian.

eating in the dark + ravenous hunger + steak + not cooked = soon to be very sick and scared of meat

This led to a multiple day stay at a MASH field hospital; a finely run establishment set up by the Italian medical soldiers  in Beira, Mozambique. Finely run if you understand Italian and you are male.

Me, being neither, had other opinions.

Only a mere year later (after being wrongly diagnosed with a serious disease and having fought off the Italians who had wanted to remove my appendix) I learned that my steak was the guilty culprit. Free to go, free to travel now, I celebrated with hitting the road again and this time avoiding…

So when it comes to Miss Nurse’s concerns about Jade’s meat eating in Egypt, I did some research only to discover that almost everything can be delivered in Egypt.

So cooked meat for Jade will be on speed dial, I guess. Whew! Survived that motherly guilt once more.

Happy eating, whatever you eat, from Cheryl and The Family C; travelling from A to Z.

What is the worst meal you ever ate?

15 comments

  1. doreeweller · April 17, 2015

    Oh, that’s so awful! I’ve been meat free for almost four years now, not because of any trauma, but just for life choice reasons. I won’t cook it at home either, and luckily my husband is too lazy to, so he’s eating less meat too, and has actually started to like eating a mostly plant based diet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      Yes, I never went back to meat when I returned to Canada because it is a life choice now for me too.

      Like

  2. joannesisco · April 15, 2015

    I can’t say if I’ve had a bad meal … simply because I have really bad sinuses and when they are ‘off’, even perfectly good food can smell and taste funny. My husband just rolls his eyes at me now, but I often can’t get past it and can’t eat it.
    I haven’t been able to eat a hot dog since I was pregnant with son #1 30 years ago. The smell still makes me feel nauseated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 15, 2015

      Oh well you are not hurting too badly by missing out on hot dogs 🙂 Now if it was cake or cookies, that would be a concern!

      Like

      • joannesisco · April 15, 2015

        I WISH I could lose my taste for cake and cookies … and candy and chocolate … it would make my life so much easier!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 15, 2015

        Ha Ha I agree. I have 2 daughters that hate chocolate but unfortunately I love it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ally Bean · April 15, 2015

    The worst meal I ever ate was at a small town cafe in central Indiana. I ordered chicken salad and it was made with the dark meat, stringy– and with so much mayo + garlic in it that I couldn’t believe it. I ate a couple of bites, considered the location and just paid for it without a word. For the next few hours I belched non-stop, just long enough to get across the border of Indiana into Ohio, a more refined state!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Ferguson · April 15, 2015

    The joys of meat in some places…I remember avoiding any odd looking meat in China. I got made fun of…until we got served dog and I was the only one who didn’t partake. I file that under “things I will never regret”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 15, 2015

      I so agree. The “dog” soup in South Korea was the biggest turn off yet for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · April 15, 2015

        I have always wanted to visit Korea, but I will be on dog meat lookout the whole time (actually, unless I am in Japan, this is pretty much how I travel in Asia in general).

        Liked by 1 person

  5. vrein11 · April 15, 2015

    oh that’s so sad! Afraid of meat!! Such a bummer that a steak caused you so much trauma! The worst meal I ever ate?? Well…. some of my very own concoctions!! and one crockpot egg recipe that was supposed to be fabulous! I felt so bad for the family members that ate it for breakfast before I discovered it was nasty, that I let them have ice cream for supper!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 15, 2015

      Hilarious. I am sure they all remember that too. Those are the stories we never forget.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. g · April 15, 2015

    One of the worst meals I ever ate was at a friend’s house. Fortunately, enough people were there that I didn’t have too much trouble hiding the fact that I couldn’t eat it! I remember it being lemon chicken.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

