N is for Nettable

Adjective land in alphabet land is getting to be a bit of a stretttttttch.

Nettable means capable of being netted.

Something I highly advise when travelling in insect filled countries (and yes, Canada is included) with creepy crawlers, flying cockroaches, and lurking biting things, just waiting for their chance.

I am a magnet for all things that sting, bite and generally freak travellers out (at least this family of travellers).

I have received a few insect awards along the way.

I am the proud recipient to be one of the very first UN workers in Cambodia (1993 election) to be diagnosed with malaria. And to surpass this award, the Australians diagnosed with me dengue fever at the same time. Imagine…mosquitoes love me 24/7, day and night. The upside – you lose a lot of weight and the downside – you lose a lot of hair!

Travelling in Namibia, I was lucky enough to find a friend in my bed who decided to bite me before we even met. After nabbing him, incarcerating him, he was hand delivered to the nearest doctor. No, I didn’t die but the pain and fear can lead you from A. I am happy and healthy to B. What just happened? to C. What is that? Is it poisonous? D. To a complete melt down – fairly quickly.

The evil thing that bit me in Namibia.

The evil thing that bit me in Namibia.

So I am now nettable, capable and most willing of being netted from Mozambique to Guatemala to Canada to Peru.

I will never forget the night of the flying cockroach invasion in Mozambique, a perfect setting for a horror movie. Read here for gory details. My mosquito net was the only thing keeping me from sprinting from that house of terror.

Again in Guatemala Jade and I huddled under our net amongst spiders the size of my hands and red ants that just wouldn’t let go. Neither of us slept much, stuck together from humidity and fear, laughing at our pathetic selves. Jade became an expert in the net, knowing how to undo it in mere seconds to get in and out. She threatened to boot me out if I messed with her system. A teen of her word, I followed the net rules and together, we remained. for better or for worse, until daylight.

Usually in Canada, I don’t think to pull out my net. However, recently if I could have paid someone to net my entire house from the hostile take over by disgusting rodents, some call mice, I would have gladly.

And sadly, they haven’t invented a fashionable net one can wear. Recently attacked by sand flies in Peru, I wonder why I love this thing called travel?!

colombia and peru 247

Sand flies don’t make your legs and feet look great or feel great!

Be safe and use a net! Important words from Family C who enjoys travelling from A to Z. 

What is your security blanket when you travel? 

17 comments

  1. joannesisco · April 17, 2015

    OMG – ewww. ewww. ewww. I’ve just shuddered uncontrollable 3 times and now I’m going to be itchy all afternoon reliving this post!! Oh – there goes another shudder!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doreeweller · April 17, 2015

    Wow, I’m glad you can keep your sense of humor about all that. I’m not afraid of bugs, but this post gave me some shivers. Ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      It still gives me some too! I didn’t mind cockroaches too much but now I can’t stand them at all.

      Like

  3. We share the same insect-attracting superpower! Nettable – I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Ferguson · April 16, 2015

    One of the worst insect situations I have ever encountered was in Canada – we were staying in a very rustic cabin, and I couldn’t figure out why my lower back was getting all sorts of bites and itching. Turns out? The chair I was sitting in at the cabin had fleas.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sketchpacker · April 16, 2015

    Haha excellent! I’ve been waging war agains’t all over-friendly creatures here in Ho Chi Minh but I’ve finally reached the conclusion that my room is just not bug-proof. Mosquito nets, fans, stuffing all holes with plastic bags, hammocks to remove me from the ground (where I usually sleep), enough bug spray to suffocate a small horse, etc etc and still I have mountains of friendly ants, mozzies coating my laptop screen and a very stubborn lizard who I have decided to name Henrietta. I figure if you can’t tame ’em you may as well name ’em 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 16, 2015

      Too funny about the “can’t tame them, might as well name them”. I do like geckos though. They are the only ones I appreciate. The rest, forget it. But I do hate the bug spray and find it rarely works for me. Even with deet, I get bit. I look forward to reading about some of your adventures. Have a great insect-free day, Cheryl

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sketchpacker · April 16, 2015

        Thank you and the same to you! May your life be full of well-named geckos and severely lacking in faceless bugs 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 16, 2015

        Thanks. I love that!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Mom of 3 · April 16, 2015

    This post gave me the serious heebie jeebies! You should invent something….make your millions. 🙂 In Trinidad we had to constantly do shoe checks but never encountered anything in them, thank goodness. Here in Michigan, we can get carried away by mosquitoes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 16, 2015

      Oh yes the mosquitoes would be bad there. I forgot about the shoe check! I hate doing that. Always worry about what will come crawling out.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. SD Gates · April 16, 2015

    When I canoed up through the Quetico and the Boundary waters, we had to potage to the next lake. The mosquitoes and the black flies were so aggressive (fly up your nose, in your mouth – no manners at all) we wore Safari hats with netting, only thing that saved us. I remember my parents had hats with corks hanging from strings in Australia – also to keep the black flies out. Wish I had one of those for gardening.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 16, 2015

      Oh, the black flies are so terrible! Thank goodness for your hat with netting. That wouldn’t have been a fun portage at all. Your parents’ hats sound hilarious. They must have been effective.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · April 16, 2015

        They work very nicely and look cool too!!!

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

