O is for Overwhelmed

I used to be very organized. Especially when it came to travelling. I had a guidebook, some medical advice, travellers cheques and off I went.

No fancy travel clothes, no special lock contraptions, no researched backpack, and definitely no GPS. Just me, my clothing from where ever and a couple of items from a military store.

Then it all changed on me.

Specialty travel stores, clothing designed for backpacking, travel blogs, TripAdvisor, cell phones, and even selfie sticks.

I now “know” what I should take, how to take it, how long to go for, where to avoid, what to eat, where not to eat, what debit cards to bring, which credit cards not to bring, where to stay, where not to stay, and even what the bathrooms will look like. Even for countries like Iran, North Korea and Afghanistan!

The more I read, the less prepared I feel. The less prepared I feel, the more overwhelmed I become.

Two words… information overload.

Which leads to anticipatory travel anxiety. What if I take the wrong thing? What if the lock I buy is not as good as theee one that Tina The Terrific Travel Blogger recommends. (And for those of you not in the “know” the latest must have is anything from Pacsafe).

What I do know for sure

  • Cairo has a great place for gelato.
  • There are some decent Indian restaurants in Cairo (a must).
  • There are many scams with the camels at the pyramids.
  • The traffic is crazy and I am learning how to cross the street (thanks to YouTube).
  • All food can be delivered. In fact, anything you want can be delivered.
  • Become good friends with the doorman. Every building has one and he is the “key” to getting by successfully.
  • I won’t be able to read my own bills as even the numbers will be in Arabic. (note to self: study now!)

However

Back to the basics. To get better organized and to become less overwhelmed, we have begun to get our priorities in order.

The Number 1 Priority is Chocolate Chip Cookies

We have been sampling recipes that don’t require any fancy schmancy kitchen tools. And we have succeeded.

So now that we have a chocolate chip recipe to take with us, we just need to find the magical travel store that has a sign that says, Are you going to Egypt? You need all this stuff. Buy, pack and take! 

In the meantime, my prep area still looks like this!

Yes, the photo on the right is my advanced method of learning Arabic! Yes, that too needs to be better organized.

Moving from Canada to Cairo with the Family C from A to Z

Have you ever felt overwhelmed when preparing to move? 

30 comments

  1. Donna · May 16, 2015

    I like the # 1 priority chocolate chip cookies awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doreeweller · April 18, 2015

    Wow, I feel overwhelmed just reading all that. Glad to hear you have cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paige Hamilton · April 17, 2015

    It’s going to be a fantastic adventure … and the cookies will definitely help with overwhelming feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Ferguson · April 17, 2015

    Remember, just eat the cookies and all will feel better. Even if only temporarily.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joannesisco · April 17, 2015

    I think I would be overwhelmed enough moving myself. Doing with a family in tow would be definitely over-the-top!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can only imagine. I’m overwhelmed just reading about your new adventure. 😉 I look forward to your future posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ally Bean · April 17, 2015

    When have I ever not felt overwhelmed when I moved? For me there’s nothing worse than packing things up and trying to get it together someplace new. I admire your spunk in the face of all that’s about to change, and your smart thinking about getting the cookie recipe figured out. Priorities, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      Thanks! I like that word, spunk. It makes me sound quite positive. I think I am motivated to begin… on Monday.

      Like

  8. Dawn · April 17, 2015

    I think moving is inherently overwhelming even if it’s just from one apartment to another in the same city. So a move like yours, to a different country, different culture, different alphabet, well that’s beyond overwhelming and can only be thought of in small manageable chunks. To have someone in the city, like the comment above, will be a safety net for you. What an adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      Thanks Dawn. I agree. I have to break it down into chunks. And I need to begin soon!

      Like

  9. A Journey With You · April 17, 2015

    If you need help with Cairo, please let me know. I know I told you that my husband and I both went to school there, but my mother-in-law and sister-in-law still live there. I can get any of your questions answered if you have any. 🙂 I still think you will love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. g · April 17, 2015

    At least you have your priorities straight!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. SD Gates · April 17, 2015

    In the Air Force, had to move from Seattle to Japan. Could only take a little but with me. I lived off-base, no phone, no TV, barely any heat (had ice crystals in my toilet in the winter). Had never moved overseas by myself, was completely unprepared for the change in lifestyle. Did find a Denny’s though near my house, we would go plunk down $100 for a smorgasbord of kind of American food.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      That is a major move! I know that familiar food helps though. In Korea, I used to blow a bit of money every now and then at TGIFs. No phone, no TV etc. would have been hard.

      Like

      • SD Gates · April 17, 2015

        That was before cell phones, or before everyone owned cell phones. Before the internet was big. Talk about “Lost in Translation”. Korea has a TGIF?

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

        Yes, it did. And Burger King 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · April 17, 2015

        Did it taste like Burger King? I went to a McDonalds in Paris and took a bite, and I was like what the heck is this? I hear Barcelona has a 7-Eleven.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

        Yes, it did. Exactly the same.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Danielle · April 17, 2015

    I’m so jealous! I’ve always wanted to visit there! It does sound overwhelming though. I can’t even imagine. Although, you look really organized! Good planning with the cookies. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      Thanks. It will be an adventure once we get there. The cookies will hopefully help in one way or the other!

      Like

  13. Mom of 3 · April 17, 2015

    I came into your blog recently (very glad I did!). Moving to Cairo….wow! For an indefinite period of time? For work? I bet you all are excited. Very much understand the O is for overwhelmed! You’ve the important stuff done…chocolate chip cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

      Thanks. Yes, it is a two year contract at a private international school in Cairo. I am a teacher. My “A” post explains it a bit more as in A is for Afraid.. And you are right. Cookies will help.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mom of 3 · April 17, 2015

        I can’t wait to read about it. I taught elementary for many years. Teaching somewhere over-seas was something I thought seriously of doing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 17, 2015

        Thanks. It will be an adventure. I do love elementary. My favourite too.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Kat · April 17, 2015

    Well, I have not moved in nearly 20 years so I can’t begin to imagine what a move like yours will entail! All I can say is yikes! It looks like you’re approaching it with a good attitude! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

