Q is for Quaint

I love the word, quaint. Say it out loud. It even sounds quaint.

When I travel, I am drawn to places, I consider, quaint.

In my mind, Vermont is quaint. Almost every little inch of it. Old-fashioned stores, charming bakeries, sweet B&Bs, country cottages, rushing rivers… everywhere you look, oozes quaintness. I just want to bottle it up and take it home.

After much analysis (a quick perusal of my photos) and a lot of quaint competition, I am going to declare Mexico, the capital of quaint. For those who disagree, feel free to share with your dog or cat. 🙂

You may be saying, “What does Mexico have that I don’t have?”

Mexicans know how to create a heart for their cities. Whether you call it a zocalo, a plaza, a town square, or a piazza, it is a point in the center of a town or a neighborhood that draws people to it and holds them there, captive but content.

Each zocalo is unique in Mexico.

One of my favourites is in Oaxaca. Each day as the sun dips low, people venture out to the zocalo. A park filled with benches for people to relax, to talk and simply to watch each other. Vendors sell toys for kids, men shine shoes, women sell handicrafts and always there is some fun food to eat. Families stroll, kids play and tourists, like me, take pictures and relish in the homey atmosphere of this common place where everybody and their dog loves to hang out.

What I find most refreshing is that the busiest time is in the evening. Having grown up in a city where the downtown park was empty during the day and off limits during the night due to “inappropriate activity”, it is reassuring to know there are still safe places in the world to hang out once the clock passes 6 PM.

So having concluded that Mexican towns and their zocalos win the quaint award, the strangest thing happened.

My husband was in Mexico as I was writing this post. He didn’t not know what I was writing about, yet at the same time, he sends me a picture of a cafe he thought was quaint. A word he rarely uses. This is his rendition of quaint.

The quaint cafe in Mexico  where my husband was while I was writing my quaint post in Canada.

The quaint cafe in Mexico where my husband was while I was writing my quaint post in Canada.

Although we seem to agree that Mexico is very quaint, I think we agree to disagree on his photo.

Yes, honey, the photo of the fire extinguisher in Mexico is very quaint.

You may know now why I or the girls take our travel photos.

Thanks for stopping by as The Family C travels from A to Z.

Where have you travelled that is quaint? 

15 comments

  1. Sarah Ferguson · April 21, 2015

    Ha! I love your husband’s idea of quaint. I guess it, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 21, 2015

      So true. When he sent me the pic, he didn’t even realize that the fire extinguisher was in it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Danielle · April 20, 2015

    Wow! I really need to travel more! My kids would love that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 20, 2015

      Yes, I think all kids love balloons, outside play and lots of fun things to eat!

      Like

  3. patgarcia · April 20, 2015

    Hi,
    I’ve never been to Mexico but I have a one or two dear friends who are Hispanics from Mexico and they are married to Germans. It is always a joy to talk with them because we have like temperaments.
    Thanks for the nice post.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 20, 2015

      Thank you Patricia for dropping by. Have a great day and I look forward to the continuation of your brilliant story. So thought provoking!

      Like

  4. I agree with you about Vermont! Not having traveled to Mexico, I cannot attest to its quaintness. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. SD Gates · April 20, 2015

    How funny – the fire extinguisher is quaint, How interesting that you were both thinking of the same word. I think Key West is quaint, more in attitude than anything, when they all go down to the pier to watch the sunset. It’s like a big impromptu party. At least that’s the way it was when I was there last (which has been a while). (oh and Ocracoke – right off of the North Carolina coast strikes me as very quaint – can you be very quaint?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 20, 2015

      That sounds like a fun and quaint experience in Key West. When I was there, I must have missed out on that. Would have been fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · April 20, 2015

        It was really cool to see, it was like everyone down at the pier were old friends, watching the sunset.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. La Sabrosona · April 19, 2015

    Having travelled in Mexico and meeting my husband in there (Veracruz) and spending time in the zócalo as well as the malecón, I have to say I agree with you. I’m biased. The way they organize the cities are quaint. The only place that comes to mind is the town my parents are from. There’s only stop signs, no street lights.The houses are painted all different colours and most are small and humble, and have such character.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 20, 2015

      I love that – only stop signs. Sounds so quaint for that reason alone. I also love the houses painted different colours such as in eastern Canada. Canada has some very quaint fishing villages in the east.

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · April 20, 2015

        Yep – that’s where they’re from – Isle Madame, Cape Breton Island, NS. Very charming place.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Jennifer Amerkhanov · April 19, 2015

    Agreed – the zocalo in Oaxaca is very quaint and perfect place to pass a warm evening. Many places in Russia are quaint – especially train platforms in small towns with all the babushki selling their knitted shawls and homemade baked goods. Colorado mountain towns – the real ones, not the ski resort towns – are also very quaint.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 19, 2015

      The train platforms sound divine. I haven’t been to Russia yet but would like to some day. Selling homemade goods just automatically makes it quaint. Oh and I do love mountain towns too. Another travel place that would be great to experience. Thanks for the ideas. My list just gets longer and longer.

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

