U is for Used

Dear RJ,

I feel so torn when I think back to that day. I often think of you, leaning against that fence watching me go down that river. Me, in the boat, wondering if I had made the right decision.

It all began so long ago. When we first met, I was shy and hesitant, unsure if you were the right one for me. You weren’t quite the right fit, you felt a little different from my others but I took a leap of faith and hoped.

As time went on, we grew to love each other; maybe out of routine but I prefer to think we put our differences aside and focused on our positive attributes instead. I kept you close to me; cherishing you when I had little else around me. In return, you comforted me, always.

When that day came, you were at the end. So tired, worn out, and heavily used, you didn’t complain. You let me go as I let you go. I miss you so.

Fondly yours,

Me

(I had a very large (too large) red jacket that I have travelled with for years. The lining was so ripped and torn that only the surface of the jacket remained and any rain would leak through. Its last days in the jungle of Guatemala were met by the invasion of red ants. Taking one last look at it, my family convinced me to leave it behind. I set it on a fence and turned away. Sadly… Since then I haven’t been able to find another that is even half the jacket my red one was. I am still searching….)

Me and my red jacket sharing happy moments travelling.

Me and my red jacket sharing happy moments travelling.

Have you ever had something that you so adored that you didn’t want to throw it out or give it away?

See you tomorrow.

The Family C from A to Z

17 comments

  1. Paige Hamilton · April 28, 2015

    So wonderfully written! And I love that the red jacket is in some of your other posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco · April 26, 2015

    What a clever piece of writing!
    I can’t think of anything I’ve ever had a similar relationship to … a great Ode to the Jacket 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah Ferguson · April 25, 2015

    Of course! I have an old sweatshirt from law school. At this point, the elastic in the wrists is shot, there are multiple stains on it (I know one is squid ink, but the rest remain a mystery). It is in pictures of me all over the world for the last 12 years – sometimes I’m wearing it, sometimes it’s tied around my waist, sometimes it is sitting on the back of a chair. It has somehow survived many bars and crazy nights, when many other items have been lost. Eventually, it will get so ragged even I will have to part ways with it, but that day has not yet come (and when it does, I hope I accidentally forget it on the shores of a mountain lake or somewhere I can always think of it fondly. In reality, it will probably be left in some bar).

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

      Sarah, that is wonderful. I also had a law school sweatshirt but it didn’t last as long as yours. Probably not as good a law school as yours!!! I hope that it does end its law career in some nice place but a bar might be a fitting end too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · April 25, 2015

        I am shocked it hasn’t already met its end at a bar. Many less-than-sober nights have involved it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

        Sounds like anything I had from law school too! Law stuff and drinking go hand in hand I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · April 27, 2015

        I’m pretty sure it’s the best way to get through it (and the legal career afterwards!).

        Liked by 1 person

  4. A pair of Nickels penny loafers. I wore them until they were just sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Liz Brownlee · April 24, 2015

    Gosh, yes. Too many to mention. Well one I’ll mention- a skirt, made by a company, i think they were French, called Jousse. It was silk, in beautiful pale colours, pale blue, a sort of lemon and one other, it sounds horrible but it was exquisite, flowing, long, felt delicious on. I yearn for that skirt… ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SD Gates · April 24, 2015

    I have a cardigan with big flowers all over it, buttons made out of abalone shells, and the label inside the cardigan says made in East Germany. I think it has to be about over 60 years old, I bought it from a second-hand store in the 1970s. Doesn’t even fit anymore, but I feel like it is a little bit of history hanging in my closet.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. g · April 23, 2015

    A red flannel bathrobe which I hadn’t thought of in years before this post! Now I want another.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 23, 2015

      Ahh that sounds so cuddly. Especially on a night like we are having, cold, dark and rainy.

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

