V is for Verboten

The only thing that is certain in life is change. My father used to say that.

This is true in travel as well.

Verboten by law, one can no longer ride on top of the train through the Devil’s Nose in Ecuador. That may have been a sound decision but there is no denying riding on top of a train through the Andes Mountains was a “high” to say the least.

That is me, in my favourite red jacket, riding on top of the train in Ecuador.

That is me, in my favourite red jacket, riding on top of the train in Ecuador.

Verboten by “new understandings and animal ethics”, riding on top of elephants is now controversial. Research this before you decide. (Our excuse was that the Internet did not exist and we simply did not know of any negative side effects to the elephants. Sorry to our elephants! )

2015-04-20 11.38.22

Verboten by fashion standards, I should have known that purple and red don’t go well together. If I had been blogging in my travel past, I would have been sure to be better colour coordinated.

Unfortunately, I am the one in red and purple!

Unfortunately, I am the one in red and purple!

Thanks for dropping by. It is most definitely not verboten.

The Family C from A to Z.

Have you travelled and done something that was permitted in the past but is now verboten?

14 comments

  1. roamingpursuits · May 1, 2015

    Nice shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paige Hamilton · April 28, 2015

    I learned a new word today … and feeling pretty fortunate that I don’t have many personal examples of verboten experiences to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Purple and red…. you are stylin’. Work it. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnkinster · April 25, 2015

    Crazy to ride on top of a train…..but we all did crazy at one time in our lives. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

      Yes, I know. It felt less crazy because so many others were doing it. I know… an excuse.

      Like

  5. Solveig · April 25, 2015

    I don’t recall doing things that are now verboten. Well besides taking bottles of water on planes…

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

      Strange how the world of travel has changed so much that taking water on a plane is illegal now.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. SD Gates · April 25, 2015

    I happen to like the combination of purple and red. Aren’t they kind of across the color wheel from each other, or am I thinking of purple and green. I am glad they are thinking that it is not a good thing to ride on elephants. Elephants strike me as very sensitive animals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

      Yes, they are sensitive, I believe. And I do love both purple and red, but maybe not together šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · April 25, 2015

        Purple and red flowers look great together in the garden though, with a little white mixed in. But perhaps you are right, not altogether in one outfit!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

        Yes, gardens are beautiful in red and purple! Just not me… šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. La Sabrosona · April 25, 2015

    I love that you had a favourite red jacket. Sorry it’s no longer. But I wanted to ask if purple is your favourite colour? Or purple and red are your favourite colours? I can’t think of something verboten, but I learned a new word today. So, thank you šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 25, 2015

      Yes, you are so intuitive. Purple has always been my favourite colour and I truly love red!

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

