Y is for Yellow

When I was in law school, I made a few mistakes.

The first – going to law school!

The second – staying in law school (although the jury is out as it did lead to interesting jobs).

The third – living on Diet Coke and chocolate to stay awake and NeoCitran to go to sleep.

After law school, I gave up the law but remained devoted to my Diet Coke. I loved my Diet Coke. We had a long and unhealthy relationship. When we finally broke up, I couldn’t understand what I had ever been drinking or thinking. It had lost its hold on me and I could finally move on.

I am proud of myself as I have stayed faithful to our break up, at least in Canada. But what happens overseas, stays overseas, right?  When I travel, I get weak and that dusty bottle of Diet Coke on that shelf begins to beckon me. Before I can say Diet Coke, I am drinking one. Don’t ask me how that happens. It just does.

So when we were travelling in Peru, I noticed the pride Peruvians shared in their bottles of yellow Inca Kola.

Not normally being adventurous with drinks when I travel, I tend to resort to mainstream pop. But this is Cola right? How bad could it be?

Well, the colour yellow should have been a good indicator.

One bottle between 4 people and we still couldn’t finish it. Inca Kola is the new invention of liquid bubble gum. And even though I also love bubble gum, I will kindly say, I don’t enjoy drinking it. It is most definitely not my cup of Coke.

My husband, Chris, coming from a long line of Pepsi drinkers, didn’t imbibe. Always the smart one, despite his affinity for Pepsi that is.

Thanks for stopping by to see the Family C as we drink and travel through A to Z.

What is the worst tasting drink you have ever had?

16 comments

  1. I’m not even a soda drinker but I have always preferred Coke to Pepsi. I can’t really think of the worst drink I’ve ever had. I really don’t like clamato or tomato juice.
    As a kid, my stepfather would always made me try his drink at restaurants telling me it was coke but it really was root beer and I hated it. It was just a light practical joke, he got me every time! I haven’t tried root beer in ages, but I probably wouldn’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 2, 2015

      Oh my goodness. I truly detest clamato or tomato juice. Couldn’t force either down.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ally Bean · April 29, 2015

    Inca cola sounds dreadful. The color. The flavor. I don’t even like Diet Coke, but would prefer it.

    The worst drink I ever had was Moxie, an old-time soda pop. It was strong like cherry cough syrup, licorice-y, with a hint of stale root beer. Nasty stuff. Avoid at all costs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yellow coke? My shoulders are shaking… with laughter. You are verra brave. It is the rare occasion that I drink pop/soda/soda pop/soft drinks. It’s too sweet for me. I like water. And I like water with lemon in it. Good one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Petal and Mortar · April 29, 2015

    Scottish Irn-Bru, which is a vicious shade of orange that Fanta can only aspire to!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joannesisco · April 29, 2015

    Yikes – not sure I would be brave enough to try a yellow drink. If I’m ever in Peru, I’ll know better than to try.

    Never one to make things easier for myself, my poison of choice is Diet Ginger Ale … and it has to be Canada Dry. Needless to say, that creates some challenges when travelling. Given a choice between a Diet Coke and a beer … more often than not, I will take the beer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sarah Ferguson · April 29, 2015

    I thought that I was the only one who got through law school on soda – my drink of choice was Coke! However, as a non-coffee drinker (just thinking of drinking it is gross), I am definitely not inclined to give up the syrup I so love. On the plus side, I’m down to less than two liters a day, so there is that!

    And despite the warnings, I kind of want to try Inca Kola now…

    – Sarah (and Choppy) –
    Travels with Choppy

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 29, 2015

      I am also a coffee hater… so it is tea, water and pop when I travel so sometimes that pop takes precedence when it is so hot and you need that boost of energy. And my law degree should have come attached to a bottle of caffeine as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · April 29, 2015

        I tend to stick with the pop – I just need that sugar fix during the day (and morning and night and pretty much whenever I am awake)!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. La Sabrosona · April 29, 2015

    My husband’s whole family in Mexico is addicted to coca cola. It’s whipped out at breakfast, lunch and supper and whenever. My mother was a faithful coke follower and still to this day I turn my nose up at pepsi. It’s. Just. Not. The. Same. ¡Estoy contigo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · April 29, 2015

      Hilarious and of course, I so agree! I can’t even fathom why some prefer Pepsi, such as my entire husband’s family.

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

