Why I Feel Thankful Today

The first day of school.

Nervous, anxious, excited, overwhelmed maybe?

Lots of feelings erupt as we reflect on many of our firsts.

The first day I began this blog, I had no idea what I was doing. I had never followed a blog before nor had I read one on a continual basis. I was a “search for travel destinations for families with teens” kind of Internet person. That was it.

I didn’t understand the bare bones of writing a blog, never mind the intricacies of the blogging community. But what a find this has been.

This is a real community of people (strangers who become “friends” so to speak) who support and encourage each other right in my own kitchen. An unbelievable way to use technology to learn and step outside my box; at least vicariously.

Since I began to blog a couple of months ago, I have met people from around the world and learned what makes them tick. I have an Icelandic recipe that Jade and I have to try, I have a ghost town I need to see, I have a south Indian route I need to visit, I have wildlife I want to see in South Africa, I am learning how stigma affects people (people with mental illnesses, people who are single parenting, people who are widowed etc.), I have a new appreciation for Canada and dogs that are cutely dressed but most importantly I have learned that I am not alone in wanting to share and connect with others.

There is a world of talented, witty, creative people awaiting me and I want to thank you, my readers and all those blogs I read, for all that you share. In particular, I would like to thank La Sabrosona of My Spanglish Familia who recently nominated me for The Encouraging Thunder Award which I really appreciate. Even though I don’t feel comfortable passing it on to only one person, I would like to say, anyone who reads what I write, is deserving of being recognized as being encouraging. Be sure to pop on over to La Sabrosona who is a very talented, creative and witty writer who shares stories of her bi-cultural family (Mexican and Canadian) and mental illness. I learn something new from her daily!

20150429050517119This is what the award looks like. Just so you know 🙂 Muchas gracias La Sabrosona.

19 comments

  1. I agree. I started my blog because I needed somewhere to put more info about my book… But it blossomed into something so much more. It’s been amazing blogging and meeting other bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 9, 2015

      Yes, it is a great side effect of wanting to write about your travel tales, experiences etc.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Godivaworld · May 6, 2015

    Isn’t it lovely?? Who knew just by you sharing your journey and really, if anything like me, just using this blogging thing as an outlet would bring forth so many new ‘friends’ and whom would likely not have crossed your paths normally. What a lovely post from a lovely human being!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 6, 2015

      Ahh…thanks so much 🙂 It really is a win-win for everyone… writing and reading and hence learning so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. doreeweller · May 6, 2015

    Feeling thankful is a beautiful thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. g · May 6, 2015

    So glad to have you in the community, C!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Paige Hamilton · May 6, 2015

    You definitely deserve all the accolades and awards! I’m continuing to enjoy your blog as you’ve given me new insights to the world all around me. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ally Bean · May 6, 2015

    lol here. Best award I’ve seen in YEARS! And you, a blogging newbie, surely deserve it. Enjoy your newfound fame!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. de Wets Wild · May 6, 2015

    Blogging really opens up the world! And we’re so glad your world has opened to us, and vice versa!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Mom of 3 · May 6, 2015

    Beautifully written!! I’m excited to hear about this next leg of your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joannesisco · May 5, 2015

    Like you, I had no idea what a profound impact this wonderful blogging community was going to have on my life. My circle of new friends is broad and deep 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. La Sabrosona · May 5, 2015

    Thanks again Cheryl for the kind words and for sending people over to my “casa”. A friend of Cheryl’s is a friend of mine 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear from you!

