Airlines and Baseball – Same or Different?

It was my husband’s birthday which means only one thing, baseball. He is addicted to baseball and (please don’t hold this against me) the Red Sox. And the birthday gods were shining upon him as the Red Sox were in town to play the Blue Jays which means seats that are available and affordable (unlike Fenway in Boston – sorry Bostonians).

Jade is a Blue Jays fan and Chris is a Red Sox fan. They agree to disagree. Jade came out the winner this time.

Jade is a Blue Jays fan and Chris is a Red Sox fan. They agree to disagree. Jade came out the winner this time.

What Do Baseball and Airlines Have In Common?

Entering a baseball stadium is like getting on a plane.

You go through security. You pray that your electronic ticket works. You struggle to look for your seat for fear of getting settled in only to learn that you haven’t found it yet. You drag a bunch of crap with you only to have nowhere put it. You make a list of the pros and cons of the aisle seat versus the others only to learn you chose wrong. You spend a lot of time getting up and down to let others out only to the annoyance of others around you. You hope to God you get a polite seat mate beside, in front and behind you who stays within his or her boundaries. You can’t afford to eat. You can’t afford to drink but you do anyways, especially if you are the nervous or partying type. You eye those who have to work as they go up and down the aisle, secretly feeling sorry for them, at the mercy of those who sit and demand their attention. You pray to (insert your choice) for a successful outcome and give that sigh of relief when your prayer is answered.

What Could Airlines Learn From Baseball?

  • Wouldn’t it be fun if travellers wore jerseys and ball caps of their favourite airlines just to cheer on the pilots and airline attendants?
  • Wouldn’t it be interesting to begin the flight with the national anthem sung, all the passengers standing?
  • Wouldn’t it be comforting to know that the seat you bought actually meant you got a seat?
  • Wouldn’t it be yummy to eat arms length hot dogs, ice cream, pretzels and popcorn sky-high?
  • Wouldn’t it be hilarious if everyone got up to stretch and sang Take Me Out To The Ballgame around 3/4 of the way to your destination?
  • Wouldn’t it be wonderful if some dude wearing no shirt, “half in the bag”, began the wave in seat 1A and the rest of the passengers continued it, maybe even the attendants and the pilots?
  • Wouldn’t it be sweet to cheer, rap on each other’s seats, high-five and stomp on the floor when the flight is running smoothly?
  • Wouldn’t it be cool to get the attendants’, the pilots’ and the mascot’s autographs upon disembarking the plane?

So cheers to many home runs as you fly around the world, exploring from base to base. I hope you don’t strike out in your choices. Need some advice?  Just ask and I will coach you along the way.

What do you think? Should the airlines consider and take on some of these baseball routines?

In the meantime, I will continue to be a huge fan of baseball as I go to people watch, the audience, that is. 🙂

49 comments

  1. Kat · June 2, 2015

    Being an incredibly anxious flyer myself, I think if airlines adopted some of those customs flying would be much more pleasurable for us nervous flyers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      I think it would take everyone’s mind off of the flying part or at least sort of!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kat · June 3, 2015

        I’m sure it would…and I’m not even a baseball fan. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco · May 19, 2015

    I’m not a baseball fan but I could enjoy the creative pairing of baseball and flying. I love the idea of a 7th inning stretch on long flights 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      I agree. It would be useful as it gets so cramped. And maybe even fun 🙂

      Like

  3. Steve · May 17, 2015

    Can you believe I’ve never been to a football match, let alone any other kind of match?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 18, 2015

      I can actually. They just don’t appeal to everyone. I am sure if it was a concert however…. that would be a different story.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Serins · May 16, 2015

    🙂 Well I think the Airlines could learn thing or two about seats at a stadium too. “Too big” people don’t have a problem sitting at a stadium, Airplane seats on the other hand…..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tarkabarka · May 16, 2015

    Hello again! Visiting through the blog party 🙂 I have visited your blog during A to Z, happy to stop by again! And your post is hilarious. I am a frequent flyer, but never been to a baseball game… I’ll have to remedy that! Some of the suggestions are great. I am a nervous flyer, so maybe not the stomping, but the singing I could deal with. Questions is, whose national anthem do we sing? Or do we just sing all of them on a loop? 🙂 Singing definitely makes flying better.

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks so much for dropping by again. I appreciate it. I think we could either sing the anthem of the airline (could be pretty tricky if not from our own country!) or all of the passengers could sing their own at the same time.. what a sound that would make! Hard to stay in tune with that scenario. On that note, enjoy the party! It has definitely got me going this Saturday.

      Like

  6. Helen Jones · May 16, 2015

    I don’t enjoy flying too much, so the thought of a Mexican Wave during the flight would be great fun, something to break up the boredom and get the plane feeling as though they are one big group. Don’t know about rapping on the seats though – there seems to be enough of that going on already 😉 Found you on Steve’s music blog – hope you’re enjoying the party xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks so much for dropping by. I agree that the wave would lighten things up a bit. Enjoy yourself today too!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Quirky Little Planet · May 16, 2015

    Hi, found you on Steve’s blog party. I really like the name of your blog so wanted to check it out! 🙂 I’ve never been to a baseball game (it’s not that big in the UK) but it sounds hilarious imagining airlines doing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by. You will have to fly on over and try one out then!

      Like

  8. Hugh's Views and News · May 16, 2015

    Great post, Cheryl, even though being a Brit I don’t understand Baseball, but I was comparing what you suggested for airlines to being in a football stadium. Now wouldn’t flying be just a far more happier experience if we all acted like that? I love the thought of a Mexican wave on a flight. Great fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Ha Ha… yes flying could use a little more fun and a lot less stress, I agree.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. mbarkersimpson · May 16, 2015

    I love the thought of treating a flight like a trip to a baseball game! I’ve always wanted to watch a baseball game. Living in the UK I don’t get much chance, but you brought it to life for me in your entertaining post. Thanks. The next time I take a flight (hopefully to the US where I will see a baseball game!) I’m going to cheer the pilot for the smooth ride and order a giant hot dog. I may even get an autograph or two 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Ha Ha 🙂 I hope you do get to a ballgame. If you are visiting the states, it is part of the culture. Good luck with the hot dog idea!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Kate Loveton · May 16, 2015

    I rather like the idea of cheering on the pilots and crew! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks. They probably could use a little encouragement and TLC. I am sure it is not the easiest of jobs.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. meditorlibre · May 16, 2015

    This really made me laugh and I think that it would be a great idea if airlines did all of these things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks. I was a tad bored that day with an overactive imagination!

      Liked by 1 person

      • meditorlibre · May 16, 2015

        There is never nothing wrong with an overactive imagination, it means you always have your own entertainment with you wherever you are!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

        That is too funny. I will go with that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. suzie81speaks · May 16, 2015

    This was so funny! Hopping over from Steve’s blog party – thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 16, 2015

      Thanks so much 🙂 Enjoy your Saturday while Mr. Bloke is away ( I read your post yesterday). Hoping your future news works out for you. From one teacher to another, Cheryl

      Liked by 1 person

      • suzie81speaks · May 16, 2015

        Thanks very much! I ended up falling asleep on the couch yesterday at about 10.00pm and woke up at 4.30am! Typical haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  13. That was just too funny! I’m thinking the airlines could learn a lot from baseball. I liked all of those ideas. It would be like giving the passengers a happy pill. Maybe it would cut down on airplane rage. Hee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 15, 2015

      I never thought of that. Airliine rage can be a scary thing. Happy pills for all passengers!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Paige Hamilton · May 14, 2015

    I so enjoyed this post! Cute and funny and a wonderful tribute to things you love (your hubby and travel) as well as something you might not exactly love but are willing to tolerate because someone you love loves it (baseball). Personally, I think the idea of getting up during a flight and singing Take Me Out to the Ballgame would make airplane travel so much more enjoyable. Think of it as a meet and greet! LOL! Great read and a very happy birthday to your husband!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 14, 2015

      Thanks so much! He is addicted so I try to find amusing things to do such as people watch and find blog worthy material during the event! I do like baseball but it has to be pretty action packed to keep my attention.

      Like

  15. g · May 14, 2015

    This post is a hoot! Happy birthday to your hubby!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Jaspa · May 13, 2015

    Hah! I was there on Sunday (unfortunately the Jays didn’t do so well).

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      Ha Ha! That was the actual day of my husband’s birthday so he was happy to have them win and sad that we couldn’t be there!!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Boerenkinkelexpat · May 13, 2015

    The food, the food…oooh yummy hot dogs and ice cream. I can imagine any turbulance may be a tad messy haha! Layla

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      Too funny. Hadn’t thought about turbulence and popcorn and ice cream and what that might all mean.

      Like

  18. Anabel Marsh · May 13, 2015

    I think this might have to be internal US flights only – the rest of us might not know what’s going on! Perhaps the UK could have a cricket flight…..endless possibilities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      That is great 🙂 If it was a cricket flight, that would be a looooooong flight though.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Danielle · May 13, 2015

    Food on airlines would be magical! Really wish that would happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      Yes, that would be inspiring. Sitting there, starved as you usually are, and then a plate of great Italian something or other appears!

      Like

  20. Jennifer Amerkhanov · May 13, 2015

    So much fun! Or at least they could start giving out those little wing pins again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      Oh, I forgot about those things. Yes, it used to be different flying than it is today! I remember flying in the cockpit for awhile a few times on flights (as a kid).

      Like

  21. Ally Bean · May 13, 2015

    I love this idea. All of it. Airlines could only be improved! I’d enjoy seeing the flight attendants and pilots dressed in baseball uniforms with their names and numbers on the back of each one– or even dressed as mascots! Think of the possibilities!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 13, 2015

      Hilarious. I hadn’t thought of that. You are good!!! Too funny. I am just picturing it.

      Like

  22. vrein11 · May 13, 2015

    hahahaa!! Now that would be fun!!!

    Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear from you!

