Toronto: The Feud For Favourite Falafel

Being vegetarian, I love falafel. Being Chris, he loves shawarma. Being travel obsessed, I seek ways to feel like I am travelling everywhere I go.

Enter: the search for the best falafel (my version) or the search for the best shawarma (Chris’s version). My version is yummier which goes without saying. ๐Ÿ™‚

9 Steps To Finding Falafel

1. Go on-line and research.

2. Get confused by widely differing opinions. Torontonians apparently are very protective of their falafel.

3. Decide on the number 1 ranked restaurant, Dr. Laffa. With that name, you got to love it, right?

4. Dig deeper. There is always dirt to be found or at least a few pita crumbs anyways. This is where the falafel expertsย separate from the novices.

And what do I discover? Apparently the owners of Dr. Laffa have separated and the falafel divorce is spicing up. Research suggests different reasons for the falafel feud but no reliable witnesses have spoken. Heresay, speculation and rumours abound, coatingย good old number 1. So we trepidatiously head out to investigate.

5. Arrive at said location to discover that the feuding falafel restaurants have now gone head to head or at least side by side. Remaining loyal to the name, Dr. Laffa calls us in and we slowly enter uncharted falafel territory.

2015-05-18 14.38.59

6. We go to the counter and pretend to know what we are doing. Yes, of course, we want everything on it. And who wants pita when laffa is on order? So bring on that laffa, whatever it is.ย 

7. Receive meal nonchalantly (I pretend to be the cool Canadian falafel version of Anthony Bourdain) but with a smile of course. We are Canadian after all.

8. Dig in, devour, digest and drag ourselves out. Wondering why? Feast your eyes on this. Yes, some of his shawarma shots are mixed in with my beautiful falafel ones. I lost editorial control somehow.

9. Declare Dr. Laffa my new best friend and vow to return for many more falafel feasts in the future.

Dr. Laffa, you had me at the first bite. Although I know you may be in the middle of a messy divorce, I refuse to choose sides. Hang in there and know that I do love you, just the way you are.

ย Do you have a story about feuding restaurants? How did you choose? Falafel or shawarma – which do you prefer?

31 comments

  1. I’m so hungry now. We’ll be heading to Bathurst St. in the future for sure. Oh….. Geeeee-Man!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emilia m. · May 19, 2015

    have not tried any of those (!! I know, I know ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). gyro or kebab for me ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      Shawarma is very close to a gyro or kebab. You would probably like it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emilia m. · May 19, 2015

        quite possibly ๐Ÿ˜€ Those were my “go-tos” during my university times ๐Ÿ™‚ and pitas filled with whole different types of veggies and mayo… ๐Ÿ˜€
        well, you can tell I’m about to have dinner, can’t you? ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. doreeweller · May 19, 2015

    I’m with you on falafel, and I’m glad you were able to find some good stuff. While it’s no fun for the owners, the Feuding Falafel story is a good one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      Thanks for reading and commenting. It was a surprise to me and sad for them, but the food is still great and the service was so friendly.

      Like

  4. Ally Bean · May 19, 2015

    Falafel or shawarma โ€“ which do you prefer?

    Well, truth be known, I’ve only had falafel once and I’ve never heard of shawarma before, so answering this question is tricky. All the food in all the photos looks delicious, so maybe my answer is both! Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      If you eat meat, you will have to try shawarma sometime… it can be chicken, beef or lamb on a big skewer that is cooked for a long time. Delicious – I used to eat it when I ate meat. Very tasty and usually served in a pita bread with some salad toppings to accompany and tahini which is a garlic sesame sauce.

      Like

      • Ally Bean · May 19, 2015

        Sounds delicious. Now all I have to do is find a restaurant that serves it! Will keep my eyes open now that I know about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

        Great. Lebanese, Egyptian, Israeli and Palestinian restaurants serve this kind of food. Think Middle East – this is where it can be found.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. La Sabrosona · May 19, 2015

    Haha, such a light-hearted way of approaching the topic. I drive specially to a Rabba convenient store with a deli in Port Credit for their chicken shawarma. I am VERY loyal to my “suppliers” lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      Loyalty is a good thing. And finding the right place to be loyal to as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · May 19, 2015

        Agreed ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco · May 19, 2015

    I’m not vegetarian, but falafel for me too. Yum!
    … I feel an outing to Bathurst St coming on …. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. WhenInTurkey · May 19, 2015

    Can I have both? Is that an option here? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m not a vegetarian but I love a good falafel…and shawarma looks kind of like dรถner, though I’ve never had it. Turkish version ALL THE WAY! -waves flag of pride- so I shall eat both the falafel and the dรถner, On different days though, that’s just too much at once.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      Ha Ha! I will allow both. You could have one for lunch and the other for dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Anabel Marsh · May 19, 2015

    Falafel definitely – I’m a veggie too. Feuds between Italian restaurants / delis have been known here, but I’ve never seen them set up side by side quite like that! Best to keep out of it and just enjoy the food, I say.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. WhatAWonderfulWorld · May 19, 2015

    I loveeee falafal too! As a fellow veggie, I get so excited when I see a falafal place, especially in places where there aren’t many veggie options ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. njmagas · May 19, 2015

    There’s a great falafel restaurant here in Kyoto that we take our vegetarian friends to… because there’s nothing else vegetarian to eat in Japan. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mon · May 19, 2015

    Bahahaha this was funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. SD Gates · May 19, 2015

    I think I would have to go with falafel. Although all the picture look totally scrumptious!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 19, 2015

      I agree. It had to be one of the best looking shawarma I have seen. Mostly because of all the roasted veggies in it as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Sue Slaght · May 19, 2015

    Oh it is falafel all the way for me. I love laughed out loud at your ‘Canadiana’ attitude just agreeing to laffa, whatever it was. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully not some large slab of meat!

    Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear from you!

