5 Ways To Find Fun On The Streets Of Toronto

Four daughters means 2 middle daughters – Jade and Allyson. They are the icing in our Oreo. When they get together, we are guaranteed to have a sweet time. Recently they discovered 5 ways to have fun on the streets of Toronto.

1. Graffiti Alley – free reading and art work at any time

 2. Cupcakes and CheeseHow can you go wrong with either of these choices? – says the vegetarian mom who is trying to go vegan

3. Look At Signs, Signs, and Signs

4. People Watching – Go to Queen Street West and walk and you will see a lot of interesting characters from Spider Man on a skateboard to a guy who was reliving those stretchy polyester pants from Saturday Night Fever (no pics out of respect).

2015-04-28 12.24.57

5. Eat Burgers and All Day Breakfast – The girls love their burgers from The Burger’s Priest where wolfing down meat is a holy experience. Or so they tell me! Chris loves his breakfast in a diner where people drink beer for breakfast (a tad questionable but he will do anything for breakfast)!  Me, on the other hand, I will hold out for Indian,Thai, Vietnamese or Lebanese which is available, thankfully, everywhere I look.

What do you enjoy doing on the streets of your town or city?

40 comments

  1. Kat · June 2, 2015

    Great pictures! And all of those things sound like fun, especially with the right people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      Thanks an d yes, you are right. We can have fun almost anywhere with our girls. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Ferguson · June 2, 2015

    Yes, but what’s the coolest neighborhood in the world?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      Just looked it up.. one in Tokyo, Japan.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · June 2, 2015

        Having enjoyed Tokyo thoroughly, I am not surprised!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

        I wasn’t either and I haven’t been. But have always heard it has a lot to offer and is trendy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · June 2, 2015

        It is awesome – though it is so large and the neighborhoods are so distinct that it’s sort of like many cities in one. I personally preferred some of the smaller cities in Japan, as they were far more navigable for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

        We tend to navigate to smaller places as well when we travel because they are so much more manageable and we can find things so much easier. And then we can remember how to return to them if we want.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahem. In TO, I love all of those things. 😀 The city gardens. Front Street. The murals on buildings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davidj72 · May 25, 2015

    I enjoyed this post. It inspires us to take notice of the things we take for granted in our own towns and cities. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by. I so agree. When I can’t officially travel, I still try to “see” what is out there but maybe with a new lens.

      Like

  5. Graffiti alley FTW!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. littletravellerthings · May 23, 2015

    Love these street shots! Especially the graffiti I am so impressed how you manage to post so regularly! How do you do it? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 23, 2015

      I am in a “holding” pattern right now but next year when I am working in Cairo and trying to run errands in a city that size, it might look a little different then. Especially with frequent power outages. 🙂

      Like

  7. that traveling nurse · May 22, 2015

    love graffiti and street photography! at least thats what i do when in a new city (aside from eating, of course)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 22, 2015

      I so agree. It is amazing to look at and think of what they might have been thinking as they create it. I am really excited about moving to Cairo as apparently their street art is phenomenal. Eating is also important 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Girl Gone Expat · May 22, 2015

    Very cool pieces of street art, especially the first picture! And people watching is always fun isn’t it? I have to admit that I haven’t been to Toronto yet, but would love to experience eastern Canada:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 22, 2015

      I lived for years in eastern Canada and it would be one of my first choices if I was travelling here as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. joannesisco · May 21, 2015

    Wow – there is so much going on in these photos – the graffiti alley is amazing … especially the ‘aquarium’!
    … and are those all bikes in some kind of outdoor art feature?
    The people watching is the most interesting though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

      I love people watching. If I could turn that into a job I would. The bikes are on the outside of a store on Queen St. West. I had heard of the alley but never seen it before. Really interesting to have it all in one place.

      Like

      • joannesisco · May 21, 2015

        I must go exploring Queen St West one day.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

        Absolutely. Go up one side and back down the other. If anything, you will see lot of one of a kind stores, interesting folks, ethnic restaurants and get a great work out.

        Like

      • joannesisco · May 22, 2015

        I’ll add it to my list of Toronto places to visit 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Anabel Marsh · May 21, 2015

    Love the street art!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

      It can be impressive. Sure has come a long ways since I was younger. But then so have a lot of things 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. emilia m. · May 21, 2015

    hey, you make it look cool 🙂 I find Toronto a bit overwhelming, and uninviting at the very least, but then – with that attitude I will never discover anything pretty there 😀
    granted, I’m more of a town-lover 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

      I live in a town too and go in to Toronto for periods of time.. so that way get the best of both. I love it for its ethnic restaurants, parks, markets and people watching… the stuff I can’t get in the small town as much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emilia m. · May 21, 2015

        I live in a city, but my roots are in a 40k town, and that’s what I love… towns are much quieter on average and not so rushed I find 🙂 but then I never was big on restaurants & markets 😉
        does not matter, I love your observations and discoveries. Thanks for sharing 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

        You are welcome. Our town has about 20K if that so I appreciate the contrast. For living, I appreciate smaller too. For sightseeing, larger.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Faraday's Candle · May 21, 2015

    So fun and eclectic!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Gabi · May 21, 2015

    Wow, so Toronto is not all about icy weather 😀 I love to explore the streets as well, especially the little shops, cafes and courtyards (when in Milan).

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

      Yes, in Europe the streets have it all going on! Toronto in spring is much better than Toronto in winter although I am surprised by how many still bicycle in winter!

      Like

  14. Mon · May 21, 2015

    LOL the signs 😀 Aaanndd….People Hair! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 21, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. We thought the signs were funny too!

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

