Feeding My India Cravings

I want to live in India some day.

I have lived in North Asia, Southeast Asia, Africa, Europe, South America, North America and soon the Middle East. But for a travel obsessed person such as myself, it is never enough. My list goes on and on…

I have been and always will be in love with India. Why? Because it is the most fascinating, frustrating, bewildering, confusing, colourful, eyes opening and jaw dropping kind of place I have ever experienced. It is travel on steroids.

So it is no surprise to my family that they will be dragged to something “Indian” when we venture out on the town. It was bangles and dhosa with Abby and it was tiffins (Indian metal containers used to carry lunches) and spicy sizzling veggies with Allyson. And always… naan for Jade.

Now before the blended family thing happened, Chris and his girls had not touched the stuff. Dangling the tantalizing smells of curry over their heads, they quickly responded and together, we blended in our love for Indian food. Living close to Toronto, we can head out and always find something interesting to satisfy my India cravings. Recently, we ran into a Sikh festival which of course made me want to book a flight to Amritsar, India to see The Golden Temple.

A little shopping in Little India where tiffins and other delights are to be found.

After shopping in Little India, you must try the Lahore Tikka House (Pakistani food which seems similar to Indian but quite spicy as Chris’s face turns red and begins to pour sweat). When you arrive, the waiters ask you where you want to sit. Then each and every time, they show us where we should sit! A game of ask and tell that makes us always laugh 🙂 You receive a whiteboard to write out your order which should always include naan as it is simply the best! If you love your veggies, go directly to the combo sizzler which is heaven in your mouth.

And then you stumble home in a food coma until it wears off and you return!

What travel cravings or food cravings do you have the most?

32 comments

  1. amaya911 · May 31, 2015

    I love Indian food! Curry is great, the spicier the better! Mangos are very popular there too. I tried a mango shake that was delicious. There’s a couple of Indian families who own restaurants here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 31, 2015

      Yes, I am pretty obsessed with Indian food. And mangos are a favourite of mine as well! I love them ripe and not ripe (with a hint of salt).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Madhu · May 27, 2015

    Ha, I naturally seek out anything other than Indian when I travel 🙂 Look forward to welcoming you in India someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 27, 2015

      Thank you. I am hoping to return to my beloved India in a year or so. I will soon be moving to Cairo so that puts me even closer!

      Like

  3. Anabel Marsh · May 25, 2015

    I love Indiam food! It’s a really big thing in Glasgow and we always seek it it when travelling, but it’s never as good as home. Though obviously, I haven’t been to India yet….

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      We do too! We find it quite addictive. And the good thing about it at home is that it is always “safe” to eat.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bestthingsinlife1964 · May 25, 2015

    My father was born in India (he’s English) and I grew up with his love of all foods Indian. My mom made the best curries….which is surprising because she too is English. I have to admit though the thought of travelling to India does scare me a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      Oh i am so jealous. I grew up on casseroles and meatloaf. I agree that India can be daunting but there are ways to manage in India to make it less overwhelming (splurging sometimes on accommodation, using a driver, travelling at a slower pace.) It really is like no other country though.

      Like

      • bestthingsinlife1964 · May 25, 2015

        Oh don’t get em wrong …I had my share of boiled potatoes and mushy peas too. LOL She is English after all. Yes, perhaps if I could afford to it on a higher level I would be more comfortable.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

        Ha Ha.. and my family roots are English as well…

        Like

  5. dcliffz · May 25, 2015

    Love little India!! I should make my way over there more often, great pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. that traveling nurse · May 25, 2015

    Thai food is my weakness…. next to Italian and then Indian. 🙂 You are making me hungry here…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A Journey With You · May 25, 2015

    I went to an international food festival on Saturday. I ate my way across the world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jennifer Amerkhanov · May 25, 2015

    You said this exactly right “Because it is the most fascinating, frustrating, bewildering, confusing, colourful, eyes opening and jaw dropping kind of place I have ever experienced. It is travel on steroids.” I can’t say I’d ever want to go back to live – my five months were enough for me – but India is a place everyone should experience for well more than just a weeklong tourist fling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      I know. Your 5 month stay would have given you a great feel for it though,, all the ups and downs it has to offer. What were your favourite spots there? Or must sees?

      Like

  9. jazzwilks · May 25, 2015

    I can understand why you really want to live in India, its a fantastic country

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      Thanks. I knew you would definitely understand! 🙂

      Like

  10. Dee Gilbert · May 25, 2015

    Oh, naan! I love it, whether dipped in humus or as crust for semi-homemade naan pizza. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ooooh we lived in Pakistan for a while (a very short while thanks to circumstances beyond our control . ) and brought back some great recipes. The key to a good curry is fresh spices! My husband still loves Jamaican food following his five years living there (I met him there and wasn’t there quite as long but still love a good Jamaican patty or some jerk pork) and we’re really looking forward to the braai’s in South Africa…

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · May 25, 2015

      Memories of great food do trigger great memories of travel/living experiences. I have lived in South Africa (short time) and did love the braais. They definitely know how to bbq in SA.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Dee Clark · May 25, 2015

    Beautiful photos. I’m attending a get together next weekend where Foods from India will be shared. I have never cooked an Indian recipe…so, I may look up recipes for the foods you have exhibited…is that cheating? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

