In Training for Cairo

So it just hit me.

This Cairo move might just require some practice.

So as I walk downtown in my town of 18 thousand people, I try to imagine a city of 17 million. So for every person I meet in my town, I need to add 944 people to that person.

Ok. That didn’t go so well.

I try to encourage people in my town to honk like crazy, ignore all traffic rules, and drive in multiple lanes going in every direction.

That didn’t work too well either.

I just read that flying ants and big butt spiders are par for the course in Cairo. Yuck!

But no polite request to my ant hill in my front yard results in any flying ants so I am out of luck there as well.

Apparently sand coats everything and constant sweeping is required to get rid of that gritty feeling on the floor.

I try to get my dog to bring in some dirt but she just looks me and goes back to sleep. So nope that didn’t work either.

In Cairo you haggle and bargain for a lot of goods such as fruit and veggies in the market.

I try to negotiate with the clerk at the grocery store and she looks at me like I have 3 heads. That didn’t go down too well.

I have read that I will need to lower my expectations when running errands. I guess one errand per day in Cairo is a lot.

Yay! Finally I meet with success. I am totally capable of running only one errand a day. That sounds just like me!

Oh? You say that one errand can take all day to complete and tons of patience? And maybe some Arabic thrown in?Β Darn! I knew there would be a catch.

So much for the training. I will be winging it I guess, along with the flying ants!

(On the bright side, Cairo has a delivery culture where almost everything can be delivered… so maybe we will just stay inside with the sand, the flying ants, the big butt spiders and have everyone come to us instead. That would make for a very exciting travel blog. NOT!) πŸ™‚

39 comments

  1. I’m afraid all I can focus on is the big butt spiders. Yikes! That’s a lot of people. I wish we could haggle in the market here. I could get my haggle on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 5, 2015

      OH and I so suck at haggling. Wish I was better at it. Maybe with lots and lots of practice, I won’t get totally “taken”. My usual practice is to walk away which sometimes works. I may be doing a lot of walking.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aisha Abdelhamid · June 3, 2015

    Hahaha I needed this good laugh right now, and loved all the comments, too! About the sand dust, it’s unbelievably pervasive. We live in the countryside where it’s quite beautiful scenery so I’m compelled to keep the windows and doors open (with screens, absolutely!) Even tho the dust is measured in daily centimeters. But our house (3rd floor apt, actually) in the city has no view worth viewing, and really horrible pollution from sand and cars, so I covered all the windows from the inside with lovely blue plastic. Voila! The house stays clean! If we had to stay there for any length, I’d buy beautiful posters of landscapes, so I would not feel so enclosed, tho! Have fun, I can’t wait to read more of your adventure! β™₯β™₯β™₯;^)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 4, 2015

      Your country side place sounds lovely. Great idea for your city place… you could imagine you are in Switzerland in the Alps or somewhere by the sea. You could have seasons with your posters! I guess you have to become quite creative and inventive with this fight the dust and sand thing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Ally Bean · June 2, 2015

    17 million people?!! I’m an introvert, so that sounds awful to me. 17 people can be too many to handle. BUT if you only have to venture out one time per day, it could work. [NO, wait a minute… it will work.] Oy vey.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. snowsomewhere · June 2, 2015

    πŸ˜€ well, good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. WhatAWonderfulWorld · June 2, 2015

    Haha! This made me laugh, that is a crazy amount of people! Exciting times ahead though πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      Thanks for reading. It is a huge number to get your head wrapped around!

      Like

      • Aisha Abdelhamid · June 3, 2015

        Hahaha wait till you figure out it doubles at night! Omg, it’s truly breath-takingly crowded in Cairo at night! I can’t wait to read your post on that one! β™₯β™₯β™₯;^)

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 4, 2015

        You get to relive it through a newbie’s eyes!

        Like

  6. Mon · June 2, 2015

    The flying ants? The big butt spiders? Can you show pictures of them so I can understand why they are called so? XD
    Hopefully things will get better for you ❀
    Happy travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      Thanks. I might be making a whole lot of something out of nothing… or at least I hope so! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aisha Abdelhamid · June 3, 2015

        Flying ants out here in the countryside only occurs in spring… I actually think its just the normal activity of termites, they do that all over the world, not just in egypt. We just passed through the flying ant season, it’s nothing compared to the flying fly season… that’s year round and takes some getting used to, houseflies are the real troublemakers in Egypt – but get a mosquito zapper black light (they are common here) for inside your house, they don’t kill the mosquitoes so much, but they totally eradicate the flies! β™₯β™₯β™₯;^)

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 4, 2015

        Great advice! Thanks πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s so fun to read your impressions of living in Cairo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. openhearttravel · June 2, 2015

    You are funny! There are a LOT of people in Cairo, but once you spend enough time there, many of them will seem like family. That’s a whole other thing to content with! πŸ˜‰ I so hope we coincide in that beautiful country one day. That would be wonderful. I was planning a trip to El Gouna in September with my mom, but we might change it to South of France. Looking forward to your next post. Take care Cheryl!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      Thanks so much! I am sure I will share your enthusiasm when I arrive and get to know it too. South of France sounds great!

      Like

  9. fifi + hop · June 2, 2015

    Haha – funny read. The delivery part sounds amazing though!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. WhenInTurkey · June 2, 2015

    I’ve been practicing for our big move as well! πŸ™‚ :)! I don’t know if you are diving into arabic, but I like to translate things at random in my mind- like when I order a coffee I imagine myself ordering in Turkish, when I buy food from the farmers market I hustle like a boss πŸ˜‰ Reading this entry just got me so excited! EI! Can’t wait to hear all about it and see pictures!!

    But at some point, you just have to go in headlong and hope for the best πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      I agree. I think it is a head first kind of dive. Just go for it and as you say, hope for the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. any1mark66 · June 2, 2015

    Can’t help you with people but fill corners of your counter tops and doors with crumbled bay leaves helps with bugs and ants

    Liked by 1 person

  12. bestthingsinlife1964 · June 1, 2015

    Wow, your life is going to change. How exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Daisy9979 · June 1, 2015

    I’m a big supporter of winging it! πŸ˜€ Don’t know though if I could handle giant spiders! Yikes! I get freaked out by the little-medium sized ones around here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

      I am not exactly brave either. Even small ones are not my cup of tea.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · June 2, 2015

        When I first moved here a hobo spider showed up in the shower so like a rational adult I ran out of the bathroom, closed the door, and called my best friend, who lived 2 hours away.
        I finally worked up the courage to get in there and take care of it especially when my friend laughed and told me she wasn’t driving all the way down here to kill a spider, even though I was kind of secretly hoping she would, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 2, 2015

        Ha Ha! That is hilarious. I think I would have called her too. Good for you for being so courageous… I am certain my daughter will make me take care of it as well!

        Like

  14. La Sabrosona · June 1, 2015

    17 million! Sheesh. Intense. But yay for delivery! I’d take flying ants over flying cockroaches any day. But the big butt spiders would creep me out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 1, 2015

      Ha Ha! I agree with the ants over the cockroaches… that part I think I can handle. My daughter hates spiders so I think I will be on spider control at all times πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · June 1, 2015

        Is malaria a problem there? I was gonna say maybe netting would keep the spiders away while sleeping.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 1, 2015

        Malaria isn’t a problem but I have decided to take nets with me for peace of mind. You are one smart woman.

        Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · June 1, 2015

        Yay Cheryl thinks I’m smart! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 1, 2015

        You make me laugh πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · June 1, 2015

        Yay I make Cheryl laugh!!!!! Lol…I’m trying to get back into the flow of writing and blogging. Seemed like I was on a roll before the first communion and now I feel a little lackluster. So making someone laugh, even if it’s via comments is like getting one errand done per day πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

