Gay Rights: My First Time To Unfollow

As I look up this morning at the top of my post, I see the rainbow that WP has added. It makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

As I read through the blogs I follow, I also smiled. Until one. My first time to “unfollow” and it hurt. It made me sad. It made me mad. And after a long walk, I probably need another one.

I have brown hair. No choice.

I have long legs. No choice.

I have curly hair that refuses to behave. No choice.

I have white skin that burns. No choice.

I am straight. No choice.

I am married. My choice.

You have (insert colour) skin. No choice.

You are born in (insert country). No choice.

You were raised by (insert any kind of family scenario or lack thereof). No choice.

You are (insert gender). No choice.

You are (insert sexual orientation). No choice.

Is this person any different from me? NO.

This person and every other living being is equal to me and deserves the law to recognize that fact.

Everyone should have the choice to be who they are and we, as loving people, should honour and accept this.

To be distraught, to feel a pit in your stomach, to feel a tightness in your jaw because of a decision that makes us all equal makes me just sad.

And off I go for another walk to focus on the positive this time. My glass is back to being half full… almost full… as I celebrate with my daughters these steps taken to be a more equitable and fair society, the one I want myself and my family to live in.

(In light of the potential for a variety of responses, I have the right to publicize the comments that I wish to have on my blog. Just as the other blogger had the right to share his/her opinions and I had the right to follow or unfollow.)

66 comments

  1. Hannah the Zebra · July 11, 2015

    A wonderful post! I was thrilled/relieved/giddy/ecstatic with the Supreme Court’s decision. I was worried that it just might go the other way. I put up several posts that weekend to celebrate the decision. Thanks for the Like on an older post,btw. And I love your blog title!! I’m having fun imagining all the short stories that could originate just from that as the lead in. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 11, 2015

      Yes, we celebrated here that weekend as Canadians. What the US thinks is huge even up here and of course, around the world. You have an interesting blog title as well! Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hannah the Zebra · July 11, 2015

        You’re more than welcome! I’m still chuckling over your title. Next time I’m in Peet’s Coffee, I’m tempted to say, “And can I have 4 camels with that coffee please?” Thanks for checking out my blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 11, 2015

        Ha Ha. That would be quite funny ๐Ÿ™‚ You are most welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SD Gates · July 2, 2015

    Hi my friend. I was so out of the loop last week, when I saw the Reader in rainbow colors, I really thought something had happened to my computer. Of course, my kids quickly clued me in and then I was happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

      That is what our kids are for!

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · July 2, 2015

        My boys are so on top of what is going on in the world with their Twitter and their Instagram and their Vines. I don’t need to read the news anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

        Absolutely. I ask my daughter and she has heard the latest always.. maybe not the details however. Ha Ha

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · July 2, 2015

        Headlines without the details are fine by me!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

        So true. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. fifi + hop · July 1, 2015

    Well said. An exciting time for our country, and personal friends :).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Uncle Gerry · July 1, 2015

    Well said !!! Cheryl
    People tell me at time how life is so complicated/ I disagree/ life is actually quite simple if you really think about it
    ” treat people as you would like to be treated”
    Regardless of what life throws at you. How simple is that ? Wow !!! and to think of all the debates happening around the world at this moment on that simple subject:(((
    I recently went to my son ‘s grade 12 graduation and as I was waiting for the ceromony to start I was admiring all the different flags hanging in the hall but the one that really caught my eye was the rainbow flag . How time have changed since I went to high school. That would not have been accepted. I knew of one person that was gay and life for him was very difficult . It wasn’t until later on in life that I discovered how so many more students I went to school with / had lunch with / played sports with / partied with and oh yes lived with ( my sister ) had to live a different life , a life of fear , a life of shame . How sad:(((((
    Now sitting in this high school gym 28 yrs later starring at this flag proudly hanging among the other flags as equal actually brought tears to my eyes
    Yes change is slow at times but how lucky are we to live in a country that allows everyone the right to make changes

    Happy Canada Day !!!!!!!!

    Uncle Gerry

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

      So well said Ger. I remember back when and I had never seen or heard of a rainbow flag and the topic of gay rights was hush hush…a welcome change. Sigh… relief… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. doreeweller · June 30, 2015

    Lovely way of cutting through the BS to the core of what this is really about. Lots of people want to make it about religion or sin or whatever. But what it boils down to is equal rights for all humans. The rest is just details.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 30, 2015

      Yes, it feels pretty cut and dried to me. People are people. Equal. Thanks for the comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cindy · June 30, 2015

    I just spent a wonderful week-end with my husband in Charleston, SC. On our way to dinner one night, an African American cabby gave us an earful about how frustrated she was with the national press that descended into town to cover the recent horrifying shooting and then go on to basically smear South Carolinians as bigots and racists. She was waving her hands while she expressed her frustration finally saying “I’m so glad they are leaving! They just stir up trouble!” And this is how I look at pretty much everything the press touches, including issues related to gay rights. Peace and harmony just don’t get ratings…so you have to find the bigot in the crowd (and yes, there will always be some) and shove a microphone in their face. It saddens me to think that peoples’ opinions of Americans may be shaped by CNN, NBC and all the rest. I would say that most Americans really don’t care a whit about who sleeps with whom. Most of us have been embracing and loving our neighbors just as they are..for years. I’m a white, Christian woman living in the South..and I personally don’t believe the government has any right to impose its version of morality on the citizenry (except of course when it comes to crimes.) I live by the biblical principle that I am not to judge others…
    so I don’t. ๐Ÿ’œ
    (Hey, btw..when are you leaving? soon?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 30, 2015

      How sad that everyone gets painted with the same brush. Must be hard to live in the shoes of that cabby driver being forced to feel or be on one side or the other. News needs ratings and controversy sells… all those good news peace and harmony stories may sell but clearly not as well as the bigot with the microphone. I so agree with you… accept, not judge and let others live their lives… the way we want to be accepted and not judged. Yes, the leaving date seems to be set for Aug. 13 and the chaos of getting ready is pretty constant now! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cindy · June 30, 2015

        Zikes. My week-ender bag weighed a ton..I cannot even imagine how you are doing it! ๐Ÿ˜ณ..Regarding the press..I’m practically boycotting them all. When I saw the inflammatory coverage last week, I knew I could no longer watch. It’s as if they weren’t going to be happy until something went up in flames. Absolutely shameful.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 30, 2015

        I so agree. My husband is a CNN fanatic but I avoid… it is like I catch the news by mistake now, never on purpose. I tend to avoid and ask him if there is anything I need to know about. I find it just too depressing and stressful.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. The Sock Mistress · June 30, 2015

    I am so thrilled that the US has also now got marriage equality – equal for *ALL* people. But it also means more than just getting married. Its being able to have the same benefits and rights, being equal to a m-f couple and also protection for the children of these couples. I have a lot of American friends and while I had to hide a couple of “friends” on Facebook, due to their bigotted comments, the rest of my feed looked like a rainbow ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 30, 2015

      Yes, my FB feed looks like a rainbow as well which is great. And so true… equality with respect to benefits and for children as well is absolutely necessary and thank goodness it finally has arrived for Americans.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Erica Herd · June 29, 2015

    Well said.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. DayDreamer52 · June 29, 2015

    Hey! I totally agree with this post and I love it. And even though America isn’t my country, I am so glad that slowly bit by bit, the world is becoming a little more accepting and people are starting to be treated as equal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 29, 2015

      I am Canadian and it has been legal here for awhile but this is a huge step in the right direction!

      Liked by 1 person

      • DayDreamer52 · June 29, 2015

        Yeah. It’s still illegal in India but I am hoping things will start changing here too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 29, 2015

        Yes, and my daughter and I are moving to Egypt where it is illegal as well. There is still a lot left to be done.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. unfinishedtravel · June 29, 2015

    When SCOTUS announced their decision, I was proud of my country in a way I haven’t been for a long time. I’ve been steadfastly refusing to listen to or read anyone else’s opinions on the matter since then. In my opinion, this is the biggest civil rights victory of my generation, and no amount of bigotry will change the fact that it was absolutely the right decision to make.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 29, 2015

      I 1000% agree with you. I am also happy that if you gave reason to be proud of your country. You should be. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Kat · June 28, 2015

    I will also be unfollowing a person or two. You stated this perfectly!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. any1mark66 · June 28, 2015

    Everyone has the equal right to live as they see fit. If you don’t agree with a persons lifestyle, don’t live it! Oh wait, that’s way too easy. The land of the free came at a cost, every race, every sex, every orientation died in every war fought for and against this country.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. WhatAWonderfulWorld · June 28, 2015

    Beautiful words ๐Ÿ™‚ They couldn’t be truer!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Keri from Baby Globetrotters · June 28, 2015

    Just as everyone in the US now has the right to marry without needing to justify their orientation, likewise you should feel free to unfollow with pride too – at least you do not have to marry your blog follows! Touching thoughts, happy to have in my morning news feed, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Donna · June 28, 2015

    Well said I do not know what blog posted anything but yippee but we do all have the right to our opinion. It is just very sad that someone doesn’t feel that it was a great law. Equality no more Gay marriage just Marriage!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 28, 2015

      You are so right… just marriage. That is well said. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  17. Ally Bean · June 27, 2015

    You’re new to blogging aren’t you? I applaud your decision to unfollow when someone writes something that you feel is inappropriate. I’ll suggest that this will happen more times than you can imagine– and that it’ll always seem sad to have to do it. People seem so sensible, then, wellโ€ฆ *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 28, 2015

      I am new to blogging and was caught “off guard” today as I thought I knew who I was following etc. But then again… it is hard to really “know” someone even in the face to face world at times. And of course, I don’t like to be rude by unfollowing but my gut told me that I simply didn’t want to keep reading that blog.

      Like

      • Ally Bean · June 28, 2015

        I know the feeling. You make yourself vulnerable whenever you engage with another blogger, and if his or her posts [or comments] start to get “odd” it’s difficult to know what to do. I’m like you, I don’t want to be rude, but…

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Anabel Marsh · June 27, 2015

    Totally with you. Well said.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Dawn · June 27, 2015

    Even before this week I have considered unfriending some people on facebook because their politics and views are so hurtful. But then I decided if I did that they’d never see MY comments in response…so at the moment I have not done that. Though I can see that I might now. Thank you for supporting the changes happening now. Everyone should have a choice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 28, 2015

      Thank you as well. Your comments in response are important and I think you made a wise decision to comment and be seen and maybe “read”. Maybe not understood, but to be read is also useful.

      Like

  20. perelincolors · June 27, 2015

    To un-follow was definitely the right choice, I would have done the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 28, 2015

      Thanks. I felt very conflicted. Then I thought I simply didn’t want to spend any more time reading something I had no belief in and felt was highly discriminatory and that would affect my relationship with that blogger going forward. Better to unfollow and leave my blood pressure at a reasonable level!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • perelincolors · June 29, 2015

        I unfollowed for the first time about two weeks ago. In comparison, it was a minor issue; the blog had started to do heavy advertisement in some sort of supposedly sponsored post.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · June 29, 2015

        I wouldn’t like that either. I see that sometimes in the travel blogs written by travel bloggers who do it as their profession. I tend not to follow them but to check up on their blogs every now and then.

        Like

  21. La Sabrosona · June 27, 2015

    Well done for drawing the line. We have to speak up and let it be known these “opinions” are unacceptable. Denying people of their human rights is an injustice and needs to be called out as such. Thanks for being a great role model ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  22. LDG luciledegodoy · June 27, 2015

    Hope you can hear I’m applauding your action and cheering you from Amsterdam! Bravo!!
    It’s sickening to deal with dogmatic and self righteous people! Unfollow! I’d do the same! Proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 27, 2015

      Thank you so much. Maybe you and your non-like button are rubbing off on me. Ha Ha! And I love anything from Amsterdam even applause. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  23. schuttzie · June 27, 2015

    Very well said and I agree, that it would be very sad to see something negative about this law on their post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · June 27, 2015

      Thank you. Yes, it did make me sad after being so “up” and feeling so positive. Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I found it a tad hard to digest this morning. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  24. joannesisco · June 27, 2015

    I am the parent of a gay son. Because of him we have ‘adopted’ 2 additional men into our lives who are as dear to me as sons can be. They are comfortable within the 4 walls of our home and bring much laughter to our lives. Our family grows in a very untraditional way and my heart is full because of it.

    Your post brought tears to my eyes. Years ago when my son ‘came out of the closet’ at the age of sixteen, Gilles and I were full of fear. Fear of the homophobic discrimination he would face in the years ahead. Actions like this week’s decision by the Supreme Court in the US and comments by people like you make me feel better and hopeful in a way I can’t begin to describe.

    Thank you โค โค โค

    Liked by 3 people

    • lovetotrav · June 27, 2015

      Thanks Joanne. I am so happy for your son as well as your other sons to feel the love and compassion and support and acceptance that you have provided. I understand that fear that you have felt. I have felt it myself. Take care and have a great pride weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Daisy9979 · June 27, 2015

    Very well said ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Dee Gilbert · June 27, 2015

    We have no control over our genes, but we have control over our behavior towards our fellow human beings. I choose to recognize and support a law that upholds we are all created equal.

    Liked by 3 people

  27. garym6059 · June 27, 2015

    You made it pretty cut and dry there. Glad my country finally used some common sense for once when it comes to laws.

    Liked by 3 people

I would love to hear from you!

