Canada Day: Toronto Style

One word for Canada Day.

WOW.

Toronto has a way of doing that.

On the way to the baseball game, these are the Canadian moments we saw.

2015-07-01 10.59.52

2015-07-01 11.04.34

2015-07-01 11.12.34

And what brought tears to my eyes, was a parade we stumbled upon put on by immigrants and refugees to Canada. People who have chosen to make Canada their home.

2015-07-01 11.16.48

2015-07-01 11.18.03

And then a baseball game that was so much more than a baseball game. A place to celebrate Canadian heroes as they unfolded our flag. It was one of those I won’t forget moments.

2015-07-01 12.08.55

And even the moon was celebrating in all its light.

2015-07-01 20.04.51

Happy belated Canada Day to all. And for those of you who haven’t visited, do come. It is worth the trip.

37 comments

  1. Sarah Ferguson · July 5, 2015

    You know, I have spent more time in Canada than most Americans – and one day I have never been there for is Canada Day! I should really rectify that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 5, 2015

      Yes, you should. My girls remember July 4 on the beach at Atlantic City more than any Canada Day! The fireworks were amazing on that beach. Your July 4 really rocks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · July 6, 2015

        It is great – my family is very into fireworks. We had a real fireworks show at my wedding, courtesy of my dad. It was like getting a second 4th of July in August last year!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 7, 2015

        That would be a wedding that no one would forget! How wonderful 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson · July 7, 2015

        It really was! And now he has a lot to live up to when my little sister gets married.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco · July 5, 2015

    Your photos are all so great, but the CN Tower with the flag is amazing. Awesome composition.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Girl Gone Expat · July 4, 2015

    Wow – that a proper set of heels the lady in green is walking with! We celebrated Canada Day (which also happens to be our wedding anniversary) in Tofino. Maybe Toronto next year;)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. and I miss canada day AGAIN! … this time being in the states, I am a canadian failure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Suri · July 3, 2015

    Awesome photos! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kat · July 3, 2015

    It sounds like a very cool experience! I have never been to Toronto but would love to see it one day. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · July 3, 2015

      It was just one of those great days when everything came together…perfect from start to finish. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. bestthingsinlife1964 · July 2, 2015

    Love our country.

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

      Yes, we are pretty lucky to live here and carry a Canadian passport.

      Like

  8. Shobha · July 2, 2015

    Love the parade photos. The green parasols are really striking!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. garym6059 · July 2, 2015

    Would love to visit Toronto I’ve never heard nothing but great things about it.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Dee Gilbert · July 2, 2015

    I have aunts and cousins who have made Canada their home and are proud of it. They are happy there; and I’m happy for all of them!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

      Thank you. I tend to take my “home” for granted at times and yesterday opened my eyes to its wonderfulness.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dee Gilbert · July 2, 2015

        I visited Toronto a few years back. It’s a beautiful city.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

        Yes, it is nice but I think the people are what make it. Kind of like American cities… pretty but the friendly factor makes them rank higher on my list.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dee Gilbert · July 2, 2015

        So true!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. SD Gates · July 2, 2015

    That looks like so much fun!!!! Love parades!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

      Especially ones you didn’t plan on seeing and just happen before your eyes!

      Liked by 2 people

      • SD Gates · July 2, 2015

        Those are the best!!! Stumbled across a Saint Patrick’s Day parade in Tokyo one year. Most interesting, but so cool!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

        Now that is quite random.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates · July 2, 2015

        Yes, I thought so. I should find those photos, because it was quite a sight!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · July 2, 2015

        Yes, it would look interesting. I love those kinds of things.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. bhatmahesht · July 2, 2015

    My best wishes for Canada. The photo of the moon is really awesome.

    Liked by 2 people

I would love to hear from you!

