Abby’s Words

It was one of those days.

You know those days when you feel overwhelmed and want to pull the covers over your head and wait for the next day to arrive?

Until…

Precious sweet words uttered by my stepdaughter, Abby.

You know there is a special clock on my phone that tells me what time it is in Cairo?

I didn’t know that Abby. 

Well, I downloaded it so I will always know what time it is in Cairo when you are away so I can text you. 

And then my heart filled with gratitude.

Words do make a difference.

29 comments

  1. baliinfoblog · July 30, 2015

    ahh, yes kind words really do make a difference

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 30, 2015

      Yes, they do. I wish you well as you re-enter your world in Bali. Being “stuck” so to speak between 2 countries and lifestyles (and cultural norms etc.) can be challenging. I have felt that way before as well.

      Like

      • baliinfoblog · July 30, 2015

        yes, it is a strange feeling, and magnified when I go home and come back

        Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 17, 2015

      Aren’t you always the sweetest? Thanks so much. Take care and have a great day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ally Bean · July 9, 2015

    Sweetness. Just when I’m ready to think that all technology is crap, something positive like this comes along– and the children lead the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 9, 2015

      I know. I was ranting about tech on the weekend just prior to this as well!

      Like

  3. Miss Lone Star's Travels · July 8, 2015

    I enjoyed stopping into your blog. What an awesome adventure for your family! We are moving aboard our boat (with 2 small kids) in 6 days and cruising into the Caribbean for a few years. We look forward to the adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 8, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by. I can’t wait to read more of your adventures as well. I will be sure to follow you as well!

      Like

  4. doreeweller · July 8, 2015

    That’s so sweet. It’s weird how such a casual comment can say so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 8, 2015

      Yes, it just came out of nowhere and she didn’t know I was having a bad day which made it mean even more.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. garym6059 · July 8, 2015

    That is so adorable and awesome! Kids always do have a way of turning a blah day into a happy one.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Anabel Marsh · July 8, 2015

    Aw, she sounds really thoughtful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dawn · July 8, 2015

    Awwww. That’s so sweet. For two reasons; 1, that she wants to text you..and 2, that she’s considerate enough to consider what time it might be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 8, 2015

      I know. And it is hard when we are a blended family that we don’t all get to experience the same things together at all times. She will come over but she won’t be living there and that sometimes makes me feel bad that it can’t be equal but it can’t.

      Like

  8. Donna · July 8, 2015

    Beautiful words.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nancy · July 8, 2015

    They always know how to get you, don’t they. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  10. SD Gates · July 8, 2015

    Kids are the best!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. vrein11 · July 8, 2015

    Words DO make a difference don’t they. Especially when uttered by someone who has that adorable smile!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. fifi + hop · July 8, 2015

    So sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 8, 2015

      She said it so randomly and when I really needed to hear it. 🙂

      Like

  13. Uncle Gerry · July 8, 2015

    Hey Cheryl
    I really don’t know what to write or say about that comment ” warm happy feeling inside “only to say how happy I am for you:)))))) it’s moments like this in life that grounds you and makes you realize what is really important in this world:)))))

    Uncle Gerry

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · July 8, 2015

      I so agree Ger. It definitely sheds a quick light on what is important… relationships and the power of positive words.

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

