When I Am Not Travelling, The Next Best Thing Is…

Seeing someone else experience travel overseas for the first time!

Nothing could have made me happier 🙂 than to hear my in-laws (in their 70s) fell in love with their first trip outside of North America.

Hesitant to travel for some time, they bit the travel bullet and hit the jackpot with an outstanding trip to Scotland. A tour full of like-minded travellers and a guide who was priceless made the perfect trip for Eunice and Blake.

I am so proud of them for “going for it” and discovering that travel can be fun, rewarding and informative.

And of course, I hold my breath hoping that another trip is in the plans. Yes, I know. I am travel obsessed. I can’t help myself.

24 comments

  1. doreeweller · August 10, 2015

    How wonderful for them! It just goes to show that it’s never too late to have an adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WhenInTurkey · August 9, 2015

    awe yeah 🙂 it is amazing to watch the elderly particularly experience something new- and how it can change their perception!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Barbara Schutt · August 9, 2015

    Good for them and in their 70’s, wow~ Adventure is now in their blood 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The Sock Mistress · August 9, 2015

    I’m definitely a travel evangelist – I think it should be compulsory to get outside your comfort zone and experience a different country, culture and religion. The world would be a better place I think.

    Liked by 2 people

    • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

      I agree. I am always spouting the huge advantages of travel to anyone willing to listen 🙂 And for them to see, travel doesn’t have to be a hardship posting or super challenging, made it more relaxing and fun and “doable” as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Anabel Marsh · August 9, 2015

    I am proud and delighted that the place where they fell in love with travel was Scotland! The pictures are lovely, and so typical – many grey days but then a day of glorious sunshine when the sea turns turquoise and everything sparkles. I can positively identify the Falkirk Wheel and (I think) Eilean Donan Castle. Wonderful! Tell them I said “Haste ye back”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

      I shall. My mother-in-law was fascinated with Scotland’s history and has many brochures and is now studying what she saw in more depth. Inverness (sp?) was a favourite and they also saw where her ancestors came from which was hugely important to her. They enjoyed the people, the food, the sights but the weather was a tad on the cold side they said. Maybe you are having an “off” summer?

      Like

      • Anabel Marsh · August 9, 2015

        Inverness is correct. It’s not a great summer but I’m afraid it doesn’t usually get much better – though we have just come back from Orkney and Shetland (islands in the far north) and had comparatively good weather – better than home – which was unexpected. I always tell people they should pack plenty of layers to deal with up to 4 seasons in one day!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

        So much like our Cape Breton as well! You never know what it will be like from hour to hour.

        Like

      • Anabel Marsh · August 9, 2015

        I remember! We were there a few years ago – it was a lot better then here though!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Hannah the Zebra · August 9, 2015

    Beautiful photos from your in-law’s trip, Cheryl. I especially love the top one. Stunning!!!! If I don’t have a chance to say this before you leave, Bon voyage!!! And stay in touch with all of us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

      Thank you so much Hannah. Hoping you are on the mend and feeling a bit better. I will be in touch once I get settled, get Internet and figure it all out. Hopefully sooner than later! Take care of yourself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hannah the Zebra · August 10, 2015

        You as well. I will be very interested in knowing how you are finding life in Egypt!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. La Sabrosona · August 9, 2015

    Fotos hermosos! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

      Gracias 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · August 9, 2015

        Oops I meant fotos hermosas….ahhh damn the masculine and feminine!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 9, 2015

        That masculine and feminine thing is the worst thing about languages that have it. All languages should be gender neutral!

        Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona · August 9, 2015

        Agreed!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. barnraised · August 9, 2015

    I know the feeling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dee Gilbert · August 9, 2015

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

