Yes! Time To Move From Canada To Cairo

The world of travel is unbelievable.

Monday, I am livingΒ in the familiar. My world in Canada.

By Friday, I will be living in the unfamiliar. My new world in Cairo.

Hard for me to comprehend beginning the week in one country and ending it in another.

You step on a plane and a mere 12 hours later, you exit to a different life.

So as we get ready to make the move, I want to thank you all for supporting me and my family!

I can’t wait to begin sharing our Egyptian adventures with you as soon as we:

  • finish Canadian check list ( I can always hope, right?)
  • drag our 5 bags and 2 of the heaviest carry-ons the world has ever seen to the Toronto airport
  • find (hopefully) our 5 bags on the Cairo carousel happily waiting for us to retrieve them
  • drag said baggage to our furnished (thank goodness) flat in the heat wave
  • unpack baggage, sleep, and try to find something to eat and drink with their currency
  • begin to make the new Egyptian check list which (from what I have read) will be never ending!
  • and when I accomplish my first task (Internet), you will be certain to hear from me from Egypt!

So until then, have a great rest of the summer and be happy and healthy πŸ™‚

Talk to you later from Cairo,

Cheryl

(PS. A special thanks to my husband for the going away gift. He grew the sunflower for me. It looks like he has successfully replaced me after all!)

65 comments

  1. unfinishedtravel · August 14, 2015

    Wishing you lots of luck with the move! Looking forward to hearing about Egypt!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 15, 2015

      Thank you. We have arrived and just getting over our jet lag! So far all is good. Thanks so much πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. snowsomewhere · August 12, 2015

    Happy travels and good luck settling down in Cairo! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 15, 2015

      Thank you. We have arrived safely and are in the midst of figuring out things with jet lag! So far so good.

      Liked by 1 person

      • snowsomewhere · August 15, 2015

        I still remember an old(ish) comment of yours about becoming a cat lady over there so I’m eagerly looking forward to your new Cairo posts! πŸ˜‰ (Can’t remember why you would become a cat lady, but anyway..!) Never mind!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 15, 2015

        Ha Ha… That was because I had posted a pic of a cat looking so forlorn in Morocco on a weekly photo challenge and somehow that turned into a conversation about me becoming a cat lady. Just walked to the grocery store and yes, Cairo appears to be the capital of stray cats… everywhere!

        Liked by 1 person

      • snowsomewhere · August 16, 2015

        πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. fifi + hop · August 12, 2015

    Best of luck and looking forward to hearing about your new life!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. any1mark66 · August 11, 2015

    Best of luck to you and your family. Remember people are the same everywhere . Hopefully, that’s is in a good way!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Quirky Little Planet · August 11, 2015

    Good luck with the move! Look forward to reading about your new life in Egypt!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. njmagas · August 11, 2015

    Woohoo! Have fun! I look forward to new posts!

    The other day I was thinking back on when I first moved from Canada to Japan. It was the first time I’d lived in a different city from my parents, let alone a different country, and to a place where I didn’t speak the language [well] and the customs were all different. I was scared a lot of the time, nervous when I was a lone, but what a difference five years makes. I feel that after this experience, I’ve got a pretty firm grip on life. If you can make it on the other side of the world, in a place completely foreign to you, then life doesn’t seem to daunting after that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 11, 2015

      So true. It can feel daunting when you are in the middle of it as you feel your way around, trying to find yourself in a country so different from your own … and then you have those moments when things begin to click and “differences” feel more familiar and it all seems so worthwhile. It is a process I know and patience, time and some work will help to ease the transition. I will get there. 5 years?! Japan will always be your home away from home. What an experience you have had as well. Take care and all the best to you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. LDG luciledegodoy · August 11, 2015

    Cheryl, safe travels! I wish you a smooth start and a happy and adventurous time there!
    See you soon!
    Lucile

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 11, 2015

      Thanks Lucile. Enjoy the rest of your summer as well. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • LDG luciledegodoy · August 11, 2015

        You’re welcome, Cheryl. Thanks! You’ll get plenty of it at your arrival as well!
        Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Carrie Spate · August 11, 2015

    Congrats, safe and happy journeying, oh I’m so excited to hear every little detail πŸ™‚ best wishes for a rich and abundant adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 11, 2015

      Thank you so much Carrie! All the best to you as you work so hard toward your goals as well.

      Like

  9. Uncle Gerry · August 11, 2015

    So looking forward to the numerous adventure stories!!!!!
    Bon voyage

    Uncle Gerry

    Liked by 1 person

  10. de Wets Wild · August 11, 2015

    Our best wishes go with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Manja Mexi Movie · August 11, 2015

    Yeah! Your excitement is catchy. Wishing you much joy in your new home and country. Always very happy to hear from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kelly Allen · August 11, 2015

    Bye, bye, Cheryl! Looking forward to hearing of all of your adventures and seeing your pics!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 11, 2015

      Thank you Kelly. And also thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚ Best of luck to you as Sept. approaches, oh so quickly! August always seems non-existent.

      Like

  13. dcliffz · August 10, 2015

    so excited for you!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Safe journey! I look forward to your future posts. Make some great memories!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 11, 2015

      Thanks Elen! Have a great rest of the summer too.

      Like

  15. Nancy · August 10, 2015

    Good luck on your latest adventure! Can’t wait to hear all about it. Sending all my positive energy your way to insure an easy and successful journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. A Journey With You · August 10, 2015

    Have a safe trip! A memory that will live with me forever – waking up to the call to prayer, at sunrise, my first morning in Cairo. One of my favorite sayings – inshalla – if God is willing. You’ll hear it so much now, and you’ll say it yourself. My best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Thank you so much. I love the sound of the call to prayer and can’t wait to hear it in Egypt. Inshallah is also a beautiful saying that I know will be lovely to hear as well. Take care. All the best with your writing. I look forward to following and reading you from Egypt.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Anabel Marsh · August 10, 2015

    Bon voyage!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. joannesisco · August 10, 2015

    My very best wishes to you on this new adventure. I’ll be looking forward to hearing your stories πŸ™‚
    May your trip be uneventful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Thanks Joanne. Take care yourself and best of luck on the training on your bike.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Clara · August 10, 2015

    It’s So true what you say about leaving one life and 12 hours later living a completely new one. It’s so hard to comprehend until you are there! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. La Sabrosona · August 10, 2015

    Strongs amiga! Safe journey! Looking forward to reading all about the transition. Be well xx

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Solveig · August 10, 2015

    Have a great and safe trip with lots of sleep πŸ™‚
    I hope that you’ll arrive well in Cairo. What a week!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Dawn · August 10, 2015

    Safe travels. I know your husband will look at the sunflower for days to come and miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Thanks Dawn. I am hopeful that he keeps busy and continues to find things that grow! πŸ™‚

      Like

  23. Marcella ~ WhatAWonderfulWorld · August 10, 2015

    All the best! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  24. backpackerlee · August 10, 2015

    What a great adventure you’re going to have in Cairo! πŸ˜€ Keep us updated!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Barbara Schutt · August 10, 2015

    Be well and safe travels to you and your family! Can’t wait to hear more from the other side. Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Thank you Barbara. I may have to miss a few photo challenges (this Friday for sure πŸ™‚ but I hope to get back on track once we settle in.

      Like

  26. Paula · August 10, 2015

    Living vicariously through your blog and looking forward to hearing about your stories once you’ve landed ~ so excited for you! May you and all your bags arrive safe and happy~

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Kat · August 10, 2015

    Safe travels! I look forward to hearing about your many adventures in Cairo and I hope that you arrive safely and event-free at your destination! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Me too! Thanks so much. I wish you much peace and happiness. You and your family deserve it. Take care πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  28. cocoaevenings · August 10, 2015

    Have a blessed trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. DayDreamer52 · August 10, 2015

    All the best for this new phase of your life! Hope it all works out well for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Skipah · August 10, 2015

    Safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 10, 2015

      Thank you very much. All the best to you this new school year. May you have an excellent and peaceful year with your daughter πŸ™‚ Enjoy.

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

