Cairo: Walking Home

Jade and I just walked home from our school. It is about a 2 minute walk from our house.

It doesn’t get much closer.

For a teen, she can roll out of bed, get her uniform on and dash to school in no time. When school starts that is… the countdown is on… Aug. 31.

She snapped this picture as we walked in the dark. We love the dark here. Dark means cooler and cooler means less than the 40+ temperatures we have been experiencing.

And if you don’t regularly feel 40+ temperatures, it feels like a hot yoga class that never ends!

In fact, last night when we walked home from the store with our Ikea rolling basket full of water bottles, mangoes and a chocolate bar for Miss Jade, we glanced at a few puddles on the road. Longingly, we considered stepping in them and even playing.

Dirty water puddles have never looked so good!

33 comments

  1. Cindy · August 21, 2015

    So glad you arrived safely! The pics are beautiful..but I broke into a hot flash reading your post. (It doesn’t take much these days..ha!) πŸ˜“

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 21, 2015

      I know what you mean. I think everyone here is experiencing them regardless of age!

      Like

  2. clara@expatpartnersurvival.com · August 20, 2015

    Oh yes – I remember that heat from Islamabad. But when our lovely helper came to babysit one night, we found her all wrapped up in a blanket when we got home because she wasn’t used to the frigid air conditioning! St Lucian heat was different altogether – it usually hovered around the early 30’s, but it was so HUMID you just sweated constantly πŸ™‚ The weather here at the moment is near perfect – around 25 – 28 in the day and a nice cool 10-15 at night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      I liked South Africa’s heat. It reminded me more of Canada… hot in the same way and cold in the same way but less cold and of course, no snow but we did have ice on our sidewalk. Yes, Pakistan would be similar to here I think. I love A/C myself now. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Even that looks hot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WhenInTurkey · August 19, 2015

    it is a bit cooler here, between 33-37, but we don’t have AC 😦 I’m so ready to get out of this stuffy city and get back to the beach!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      Yes I am sure the beach rocks there… Turkey so has it all!

      Like

      • WhenInTurkey · August 21, 2015

        Right though? BTW I saw on the news Cairo had a bombing incident..I hope you guys were nowhere near it!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 21, 2015

        I didn’t even know about it. My husband told me. It was far away as we are in New Cairo in the suburbs far from action!

        Liked by 1 person

      • WhenInTurkey · August 21, 2015

        glad to hear it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Barbara Schutt · August 19, 2015

    I love your day to day descriptions! My daughter really wants to visit Cairo (well, I do, too) and went so far as to look up what a trip would cost, haha. She is only 19 so it will be sometime before she gets there πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      OH I hope you both make it. The pyramids are surreal so I can’t imagine what it will be like to see the temples in the Luxor area at some point.

      Like

  6. LDG luciledegodoy · August 19, 2015

    It’s an experience she will never forget. It’s such a contrast with your home country. Keep enjoying it regardless the high temps.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      Thanks Lucile. We will try. She is enjoying how unique it is from our previous travel experiences, even much different than Morocco.

      Like

  7. Marcella ~ WhatAWonderfulWorld · August 19, 2015

    Beautiful image and lovely writing. 40 is hot, eek!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      Thank you Marcella. Yes, the heat is as oppressive as the cold in Canada is chilling.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ryoko · August 19, 2015

    40+? Terrible… But we also have such a high temperature in Tokyo once a year. I feel I were in hell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 20, 2015

      I understand! It feels incredibly stifling hot lately. Hopefully it will cool down soon.

      Like

  9. seasidekate · August 19, 2015

    Welcome to Cairo!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. unfinishedtravel · August 19, 2015

    40+ is so unpleasantly hot! Do you at least have air conditioning?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 19, 2015

      Yes, our flat has air con thank goodness. When we finally make it up all our flight of stairs and open all the doors with the keys, we collapse into air con heaven!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • unfinishedtravel · August 19, 2015

        I always wonder how people managed to survive heat waves before air conditioning!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 19, 2015

        I know. I think that is why the elderly and others who may not have access to it don’t fare too well. Egypt has had quite a few deaths this past week or so.

        Liked by 1 person

      • unfinishedtravel · August 19, 2015

        That’s so sad. And there’s really no good way to fix the problem.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav · August 19, 2015

        No, other than to avoid being outside. I was surprised yesterday as the construction workers were working outside all day long.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Anthony Wade · August 19, 2015

    Love these descriptions! I’ve always wanted to visit Cairo. Hope I get there one day

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovetotrav · August 19, 2015

      I hope you do too someday. It does have a unique feel to it. We thought it would feel more like Morocco but so far it hasn’t. It is a country unique to itself.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. La Sabrosona · August 18, 2015

    Lol. Love that visual of the foreigners frolicking in dirty puddles. Yay for below 40!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

