Bringing Books To Life Through Travelling

I never forgot reading The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom when I was a teen.

It simply haunted me thinking about people hiding from the Nazis and those who risked their lives to save them.

I wanted my girls to read this when they got older. Fortunately..so fortunately Jade and I made it to Haarlem in Holland to visit the actual home/store where the events actually took place. We even stepped into the hiding place to get a sense of what it might have been like. I was shocked at how small the space was and how scary it seemed to go through the bottom of the linen closet to reach it.

Most people know of Anne Frank’s diary and her hiding place in Amsterdam… which of course is a must see but if you are looking for a similar but different experience, read The Hiding Place and visit Haarlem as well. You won’t regret doing so.

I would love to hear from you!

